Daily Archives: April 21, 2011

Saucy Balls

Does anyone watch America’s Next Great Restaurant? One guy’s original name for his restaurant was “Saucy Balls” and he made homemade meatballs. I thought the name was hilarious, but a lot of people had issues with it, so he changed it. I would have kept it. People are so uptight.

Anyways, I made my own version of sauce and balls last night. I recreated my turkey meatballs for Marcus along with roasted broccoli, quinoa and Heather’s garlic sauce. I never roasted garlic before, but have always wanted to. So when I saw her recipe, I knew I had to try it.

I began by prepping the meatballs. I used the same method as last time except chopped the onions a little smaller and added some more spices to up the flavor.

I made plain quinoa on the stove. I love quinoa. I think it’s my favorite “grain”. Actually, it’s a seed. But it is very grain-like and of course so delish!

While my balls were cooking, I also threw in some garlic bulbs for roasting. I followed Heather’s method. First cut the tops off of the garlic, drizzle with a little olive oil then loosely wrap in foil. I let the little foil package cook in the oven along with the meatballs.

When they were done, I put in my pan of giant broccoli for roasting. Apparently, I bought a broccoli forest, because these suckers were huge.

Heather advised to let the garlic cool, before handling…of course I didn’t listen. I am super impatient and burned off my finger tips trying to squeeze garlic bulbs into my food processor. Do as I say, not as I do!

Once I had the roasted garlic in my food processor, I added the rest of the ingredients and got to processin. Except, my food processor was way too big, so the ingredients just kind of spun around.

This frustrated me like no other because cleaning the food processor is such a chore. So I finally just scraped everything into my Magic Bullet and the sauce came together beautifully. Next time, I will just use the Magic Bullet.

Marcus decided to go sauceless (more for me!)

My meal was pretty meager. I planned on making eggs for my protein, but before supper I decided to eat approximately 1,000 gorgonzola crackers and killed my appetite. So I just stuck to broc, quinoa and garlic sauce.

We ate outside and it was a gorgeous night – warm and relaxing. Happy Thursday! The weekend is just around the corner! 🙂