Meaty Balls

Every few days I ask Marcus what he wants for supper and he always says, “I don’t know.” Then I get frustrated, throw my hands up and say, “I need input. I can’t do EVERYTHING!” (I’m very dramatic that way) Happens every time…

Well, I was quite surprised when this time he told me, “spaghetti and meatballs.” Not only did he have an answer for me, but he had a challenge. I’ve never made meatballs before so I was pretty excited to try something new. Plus it’s fun to talk about meaty balls…that’s what she said. Ok, I’m done. 😉

I consulted my BFF, Google for ideas then kind of just rolled with it.

Ingredients
ground turkey meat
one cage-free egg
1/3 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup chopped onion
garlic powder
Perfect Pinch herb seasoning

Directions
-Preheat oven to 350. Spray baking pan with non-stick spray and place pan in oven while pre-heating.
-Combine ingredients in a mixing bowl with hands. (I didn’t measure my seasonings. I kind of just threw it all together)

-Once ingredients are mixed, use an ice cream scoop and hands to form balls.

-Take pan out of oven and place balls on baking sheet, about an inch apart.


-Bake balls for 15 minutes. Remove pan from oven and turn balls over. Bake for 10 more minutes until the outside is brown and slightly crispy. Cut into a ball to ensure the middle is cooked through.

I was quite happy with my first attempt at meatballs. I tried one just to see if I could make improvements. Next time, I will dice the onion smaller to easier incorporate it into the mixture, and probably add more spices to add flavor.  They were super easy to make and Marcus really liked them.

I served my meaty balls with whole wheat pasta, TJ’s organic marinara sauce, wilted spinach and onions, and homemade garlic bread.

You can’t have pasta without red wine (says me). There’s nothing like a glass of Trader Joe’s, “3 Buck Chuck” Cabernet. It was the perfect dinner.

To make it even more perfect, I cooked with the sliding glass door and windows open, with the last hour of sunlight beaming in and geese honking on the golf course. Thank goodness for daylight savings time and warmer days. 😀

4 responses to “Meaty Balls

  1. For your next recipe, can you show us how to make Chef’s Chocolate Salty Balls from South Park?

  2. I love it!!!!

  3. Pingback: Saucy Balls | Delish World

Leave a Reply

