14 Miles and a Wedding Dress

I took a mini blogging hiatus. The past few days have been busy with leaving my old job and getting ready for my new one – lots going on!

I had Friday off as a little break between jobs. So mom and I made plans for lunch and shopping in Old Town. After doing some damage at the Gap Outlet, we went for a light lunch and coffee at a cute little place called Bread & Chocolate.

As usual, our conversation centered around wedding talk. Mom mentioned the wedding dress store down the street. I told her it was close and we could walk there if we wanted to. After we finished our lunch, we walk about three blocks north to Ellie’s Bridal. We figured that we could browse around at the very least and just look.

Since we didn’t have an appointment, I didn’t even think I would be able to try on dresses. When we walked in there were no other customers. A very nice sales lady named Tamera helped us right away. She told us I could try on dresses if I wanted and asked what I was looking for.

I had a vague idea of what I liked in my head, but didn’t want to out right eliminate anything because you never know. Dresses look completely different on the hanger than they do on your body, so we pulled lots of dresses of all different types.

After about 10 minutes of browsing, and lots of dresses waiting for me in the dressing room, I decided to start changing. I tried on one dress. I can’t even tell you what it looked like. I came out of the room and said, eh then moved onto the next one. The next two I didn’t even put on all the way. I just looked at them off of the hanger and said, eh.

Then I pulled on the next dress. I stepped out of the dressing room and Tamera helped with the back of the dress. As she was fixing the back, mom started to get a look on her face. When the dress was fully on, I stepped on the stage and looked in the mirror. I looked at it from all angles. As I kept looking, I started smiling. Mom said, “it this it?” I said, “I think this is it.” The dress had everything  I wanted and more. There was nothing about the dress that was lacking. It was perfect.

Just like that, I found my wedding dress. It only took two dresses and a few minutes of browsing and I found it. Mom started to cry and I got super red. It was so weird to try on a dress and find “the one.”

I didn’t even plan to start looking at dresses until the end of the month. Truthfully, it was the part of the wedding planning that I was least looking forward to. But this dress was just too perfect to pass up.

So now I have my wedding dress – one more big piece of the planning is complete! I can’t wait for it to come in so we can get to altering!

If that wasn’t enough, I went on a 14 mile run this morning. Nothing motivates you to run your furthest distance ever than buying your wedding dress! Whenever I started to feel a little unmotivated I just started thinking about our wedding and the dress and the fact that I wanted to look like a rock star on our day and I just kept running.

14 miles was only one mile further than a half marathon (ignoring that silly .1) but I was proud of myself for running my furthest distance ever. Now I am even more motivated to increase my distance. After my next half in two weeks, I’m going for a new record – 16 miles!

Marcus picked me up after my run and we went to Moe’s for lunch. Nothing like stuffing your face with cheesy, spicy nachos after 14 miles. It was awesome!

Another awesome thing? I saw my eagle friend, Martha. She was in her perch, overlooking the Potomac, but close enough to her nest to watch for any trouble.

What an amazing few days! Now I just hope that the new job starts off just as great! 🙂

8 responses to “14 Miles and a Wedding Dress

  1. Congrats on finding your wedding dress!!!!!! 🙂

  2. Congrats on the wedding dress! That’s exactly the way it happened for my best friend too.

  3. I get it. Martha from Mount Vernon.

  4. Congrats on the dress and the run! 14 miles. Sounds like a lot of Kilometres to me. Will go do a conversion now. I am just managing 10 Kilometres, but then I am an over-the-hill 40 something, not a bride-to-be twenty something, but I will do 14 one day!! (I hope). Sure you will be a knock-out Rockstar of a bride.

  5. I found my dress right off the bat too =) pretty cool!
    And 14 miles! go girl!

  6. the thing I liked most about this post is that you have an eagle friend named Martha. And instead of posting dress pictures, you posted Martha 🙂

Leave a Reply

