Smashed Potatoes

I have found it. A way to make super easy, delicious potatoes, that are full of flavor and texture and require almost no work. I may never make potatoes another way again. I found the idea for smashed potatoes on Pinterest and haven’t looked back.

I cannot even begin to explain how awesome this method is, but I’m going to try…

First, wash potatoes thoroughly. Poke all over with holes and microwave until they are almost cooked through, but not fully cooked. Two medium sized russet potatoes cooked for about five minutes.

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Once potatoes have cooked in microwave, transfer to a greased baking sheet. Using a fork, smash the potatoes enough so that they are broken up, but still hold some shape.

Drizzle potatoes with olive oil and seasonings of choice. I usually use salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning.

Cook potatoes in oven for 20 minutes. And as easy as that you have smashed potatoes!

The edges have the crispy texture of french fries or chips and the inside tastes super flavorful with the smoothness of mashed potatoes. The varying textures are what make this method amazing. I especially love the crispy skin and eat the whole thing.

Over the weekend, I made smashed potatoes, BBQ pulled pork, and kale chips for Marcus.

I had the same, minus the pork, plus two scoops of cottage cheese. Awe-some.

Last night, I used the smashed method but with sweet potatoes. I made Marcus’ sweet (along with kale chips and baked chicken and mushrooms) and mine savory. Delicious! I can’t get over it.

Another thing that has been awesome this week?

Kale…eaten raw, with olive oil, and minced garlic or made into chips. We tend to go through kale cycles. Right now we are on the wagon, big time. So good.   

And now I’m hungry! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

11 responses to “Smashed Potatoes

  1. haha so funny seeing that title in my email, i watched PBS test kitchen last weekend (maybe this weekend) and made those too.. They were a big hit!

    Cheers

  2. This looks very yummy! CAnt wait to give it a try myself.

  3. Love kale!!! I’ll have to try this with the potatoes, looks really tasty.

  4. potatoes look great… I will have to try them. How do you make your kale chips? Any special way?

  5. I absolutely love Pinterest! I’m so glad you shared this so I can try it. I’m definitely a potato girl 🙂

  6. Thank you, now I’m absolutely starving, lol! Kale with olive oil and garlic sounds soooo good. Those potatoes look great too. I usually try and avoid using microwaves, so I wonder if the same method can be used by steaming them first, or wrapping them in foil and cooking in a toaster oven first. Hm…

  7. Pingback: Veggie or Vegan? « Clean. Green. Eat. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

