A Weekend in February

We have had a pretty mild winter compared to previous years – no major snow storms and relatively nice temperatures. This has definitely been a nice winter to train in, that’s for sure. That being said, I am going to be a brat and say I’m ready for the full time warm weather. Yeah our winter has been decent, but I’m ready for lots of sun and not having to layer up every morning.

On Saturday, I hit up the George Washington Parkway for some miles and randomly hit a snow “storm” in Old Town. The snow itself wasn’t too bad, it was the frigid wind that blew the flakes straight into my face. I know I looked ridiculous running into the wind with my head down and eyes shut, trying to keep my legs moving, but I made it through.

And by the time I turned around and made it back to my truck, this was my view –

Weather is so unpredictable sometimes, but this view made it worth it.

On Sunday, my friend Kerri invited me to go winery scouting with her mom and aunt. Her sister is getting married in December and we had the task of finding a winery for her wedding shower. Tough job but someone’s got to do it. 😉

Thankfully, the wind was calmer on Sunday and we were blessed with a gorgeous day.

Virginia is so pretty. ❤

We had lots of fun and visited four wineries. Out of the four, Notaviva was my favorite. The owners and their family actually live in the house where the wine tastings are held. Instead of pairing wine with food, they pair it with music. The back of every bottle has a type of music that goes best with the wine. I thought this was a unique and interesting concept.

I really enjoyed the hominess of Notaviva and loved that their house sat on a little pond, complete with a wonderful view of the Virginia mountains, and plenty of room for chickens to roam.

Lots of wine during the day, made for an early night. I crashed hard when I got home and could not peel myself out of bed for a gym workout this morning, so I am about to scoot out for a lunch time run. Only four more days left here, then it’s onto the new job!

Have a fab one! 🙂

2 responses to “A Weekend in February

  1. Gorgeous photos! Looks like another fantastic weekend – perfect for some wine-tasting…

  2. Yay it was so much fun 🙂 I like Notaviva, too! I think Katie’s going to check out the two places and see which one see likes the best.

Leave a Reply

