Restocked

Truth…I just had to Google “restocked” to see if it was a word. It looks weird to me. It is a word, so we can move on. It is ridiculously gorgeous here in VA today. I have my office window open, the Drake Pandora station providing my tunes, and I made a lunch break visit to my favorite health food store. Life is good. 🙂

We were running low on chia seeds, so I figured I would restock since I will soon be working in DC and don’t know what kind of stores are in the area. That is one thing that I will miss about where I work – all of the stores and restaurants. It’s easy to run errands during lunch and be back in before my break is up. Hopefully there is the same variety within walking distance at my new job (since I won’t have my truck at work.)

My store was out of the bulk chias, so I had to buy these kind.

Fancy packaging = more money. But it’s worth it to me. Marcus and I go through some chia seeds. I mix 1/2 a teaspoon into his omelet and about a teaspoon into my protein smoothie every morning.

Speaking of protein, I have been making protein smoothies for breakfast every morning for the past couple of months. A typical smoothie consists of – one banana, another form of frozen fruit (mango, blueberries, strawberries), 1 scoop of protein powder, a teaspoon of chia seeds, and unsweetened almond milk.

I find that a smoothie keeps me fuller longer than a carb-based, bready breakfast. Plus it’s super easy to make and portable if I run in the mornings. I keep buying single serving protein powders because I am on a mission to find a powder that provides all of the protein and vitamins I need, but also taste good, and isn’t high in calories.

Unfortunately, the best tasting one I found is also full of lots of funky ingredients. So I am trying to find a tasty powder that’s made of real food. I got this sample today.

It’s made of fig, pumpkin, beans, rice, millet, and other kinds of raw foods. It’s 110 calories per serving and has 20 grams of protein. Protein powder is expensive, so I want to make sure I like it before I buy a huge jug of it. Hopefully, this one passes the taste test!

And because I love kombucha, I had to grab this guy.

I am not the biggest fan of ginger, but it’s surprisingly delicious. Kombucha never lets me down.

I have the two weeks notice syndrome. I know the end is near, so it’s making me antsy, especially on a day like today. I just want to go play outside! Of course by the time the weekend comes, it will be back to the 50’s – kind of cold, kind of not.

 Natalie Dee knows what I’m talking about. Have a fab one! 🙂

7 responses to “Restocked

  1. 1. I just had to look up chia seeds and kombucha cos I had nooo clue what they are!
    2. I am a new convert to the morning protein smoothie, so I would love to know your review of that powder.
    3. LOVE me some Natalie Dee! My favorite, because the first time I saw it I almost spit up: http://www.nataliedee.com/091308/

    • 1. Opps sorry for the no explanation. Chias are little seeds full of Omega 3’s and fiber. I add them to things like oatmeal, eggs, etc. for an extra boost and staying power in the morning. Plus they are supposed to keep you fuller, longer because they form a gel-like texture in your stomach. I like to think that’s true. Kombucha is a probiotic drink that provides antioxidants and good stuff for the bod. It’s an acquired taste – kind of like carbonated vinegar. But it’s kind of expensive, so I only buy it once in a while.

      2. I’ll let you know how the powder is. Crossing my fingers!

      3. OMG…dying over that comic. The best one I’ve seen, by far!

      • ha! thanks for the explanation. I did look them up and read briefly but it is nice to have a “real live user” tell me why they use it/eat it/like it! And since I am going vegetarian for lent (and my trainer is going vegan) it’s good to know other sources of plant-based protein.

      • Ehh that protein powder gets a thumbs down. The taste was ok but it made my smoothie suuuper thick and hard to drink. I couldnt even finsih it all bc it was super filling. Which is usually a good thing but it left me reallly bloated and uncomfortable. Must have been all the raw ingredients. Yeah, didn’t sit well with me. Back to the drawing board!

      • good to know! Thanks for the review. I was actually going to go to the health food store here in town and see what they have… and pick up some chia seeds!

  2. Good choice with the chia, that stuff is amazing, so much protein, fiber, and omega 3s. I work at Barleans Organic Oils and we just started bagging our own chia seed, I’m excited to start using it! Way to go with the protein smoothie, they’re such a great start for the morning. I have a recommendation if you’re looking for a super tasty and nutrient dense protein powder. I’ve been using it since March – have lost 15 lbs of fat and gained 8 lbs of much-needed muscle. Let me know if you’re interested!

  3. I’m interested! Please share! BTW just got back from the health food store where I picked up chia seeds and agar agar flakes… and coconut oil. Um, I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

