Bluegrass and Back Roads

Happy Fat Tuesday! Once upon a time, I celebrated Mardi Gras like this –

Oh how times change!

But that’s not to say that we still don’t dance and drink the night away. It happened this weekend, in fact. Which explains my blog absence. It took me two days to recover from the weekend, so I guess the times have changed a little.

Over the weekend, we went down to Southern Virginia for my best friend’s engagement party. It was the first time her whole bridal party got together as a group and  the first time I’ve seen her family since this summer. So it was a really exciting weekend.

We started off Saturday with a little brunch then a lot of celebration in form of an event called “Squirrel Stew.” Squirrel Stew was a big outdoor party complete with a bluegrass band, moonshine, and apparently stew made out of squirrel. I tried some and honestly thought it tasted like chicken, so I’m going to go with that and try not to think about the poor little squirrels.

We spent the afternoon dancing in the sunshine to the sounds of the bluegrass band. It was one of those time where everything felt perfect – nice breeze, warm weather, good music, and my best friends.

After many dances and a few sips of moonshine, it was time to head home and get ready for the engagement party. At the engagement party, there was more dancing, more drinks, and more celebration. It was an awesome night for an awesome couple.

I really love Lindsey and William’s families and going down to Southern Virginia. It’s good to get out of DC and not worry about cell phones, or traffic, or work. It’s one of my favorite places to be and I am so lucky to have a whole other family and group of friends to visit frequently.

The weekend ended too quickly. We left early Sunday morning to beat the snow storm coming in. I woke up and worked out yesterday morning and then decided to take the day off. I figured one more day at home relaxing with Marcus and Bill would do me good. Plus, I only have a few more days of work here and lots of vacation time, so I took advantage of it.

I love that Lu’s wedding plans are in full swing and that we have lot more parties and fun to look forward to. It is definitely going to be an exciting few months!

Happy Mardi Gras and have a fab one! 🙂

4 responses to “Bluegrass and Back Roads

  1. Sounds like a great time!! Love those weekend-get-out-of-town kind of trips.

  2. You ate squirrel? I’m sorry, that my main takeaway here. 🙂

  3. I’m finally getting caught up on your blog posts. Of course I love this one! Miss you already! Love you!

Leave a Reply

