Just, Wow

Who knew being “Freshly Pressed” could be so exciting? My tiny little blog doesn’t know what hit it. But I like it. So to everyone, who has come here as a result of my “One Step” post, I thank you. Thank you sooo much for reading, commenting, liking, emailing, and following me on Twitter. I have read every single comment and feel so much happiness out of seeing so many people who enjoyed the post.

I hope you stick around. I cannot guarantee Freshly Pressed material every day. But you will get lots of running talk, my BRCA journey, good eats (followed by terrible pictures), my wedding plans, and lots of stories of my fluffy kitten who has me wrapped around his little white paw. Thank you, readers from the bottom of my heart. You all made my day. Heck, you made my week. 🙂 

No one can resist Bill’s cuteness.

In other DW news, I am cancer-less for another 6 months! For you newbies, I am BRCA1 positive meaning I have a 80% lifetime chance of developing breast cancer due to a gene that I inherited from my mom. Because my strong family history and high chances of getting both breast and ovarian cancer, I am being closely followed by an oncologist. So every 6 months I get a mammogram or breast MRI, a pelvic ultrasound, a CA 125 blood test, and a physical exam from my doctor.

I met with my doc this morning and she told me all of my tests looked great and after the exam told me everything looked and felt normal. So I am good to go until July. It’s a HUGE weight lifted off of my shoulders. Because even though chances of cancer are less at my young age, there is really no telling if or when I am going to get back those iffy test results. It feels good to know that I have someone following my case so closely. So if something ever does happen, we can catch it early. Surveillance yall…it’s worth it!

Since my appointment was down in Fredericksburg, I stayed in town a little longer for a chat sesh and coffee with my best friend, who I don’t see nearly enough. It was so nice to talk in person and laugh loudly like we like to do. Girl time is so necessary even if it’s only for an hour. 

Freshly Pressed, clear tests, and BFFs…happy Wednesday to me. (aaaaand I just made an awesome rhyme.) 🙂

18 responses to “Just, Wow

  1. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! That’s how I found you and I’m here to stay now. 🙂 And a big hooray for the test results! Enjoy your fabulous Wednesday.

  2. Love it! Congratulations on everything, girl! And nice writing!

  3. Wow, you seem to be really cool with the fact that your boobs are ticking time bombs. I mean that in a non-sarcastic way. I don’t think I’d handle it as well as you! I don’t know if crying in the fetal position prevents cancer, but that’s what I’d be trying.

    • Sometimes I feel like crying, and I do! But it’s been almost a year since I found out I was positive and I went through all of it w my mom when she had her risk reducing surgeries. So it’s been a big part of my life for a while now. So I kind of just deal with it. I try to think of the women out there who are worse off than I am – either have cancer, or found out they were positive bc of cancer. I am lucky because my mom found out she was positive for the gene when she was 51 and never had cancer and was able to have surgery before it happened. So we have it better then a lot when it comes to this gene. Anyways, thanks for reading! :):)

      • My mom is currently in remission for breast cancer. She was diagnosed when she was 44. Now she’s 47 and cancer free. I have never been sure I would want to do the genetic testing for myself. Her mom also had breast cancer. I’m 27 and docs still look at me funny when I ask for a baseline mammogram. I think it takes a lot to know you have the BRCA gene and to handle it well. Kudos!

  4. Found your blog through Freshly Pressed as well! I also have a strong family hx of breat & ovarian cancer – how did you decided to get the BRCA1 testing? Is it easy? You got me thinking about prevention & health…

  5. You deserved getting the Freshly Pressed feature. Your “One Step” story was captivating. I’m now a follower of your blog. I think after reading the first, it’ll be worth reading your future blogs. Keep up the good work!

  6. Hooray for great news!! Question: Did your doc suggest the BRCA testing? Both my sister and myself want to have it done given the history of both breast and ovarian cancer in our family.

  7. Congrats on the freshly pressed! I really enjoyed your post and will continue to check out your blog! When I was going to the gym regularly about a year ago I started the process of “becoming a runner” but didn’t make it far! I just started blogging about my new journey with Weight Watchers and after reading your post I think I might consider trying to run again. I still have the tiny part of me that wants to run a 5k! Thanks!

    • You should go for it! Your body is capable of anything. Just have to dedicate yourself to training and keep your mind focused on the goal. Good luck with WW and blogging. I’ll read your blog for updates! 🙂

Leave a Reply

