And The Oscar Goes To

With awards season in full swing and the big shabang coming up soon, I figured I’d write a post dedicated to my Oscar predictions. Now if it were up to me, I’d have Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II be nominated for and win every award.

Image Detail

But the geniuses in Oscar-land decided that HP was only worthy of the random, crappy awards like “Best Achievement in Editing.” I mean what?! HP is arguably the most popular movie series of our time. With DeathlyHallows Part II being the last movie of the series, you would think that it would get a “Best Picture” nomination…but whatever. Who am I, right?

And as long as we’re going with my ideal Academy Awards show, I would also have Ryan Gosling win the “Best Actor” award then mandate that he does his acceptance speech shirtless.

Image Detail

Because who wouldn’t want to stare at this for three minutes?

Ok, onto the real reason for this post. Ignore the fact that I haven’t seen most of these movies. Clearly, I have the authority to be picking Oscar winners…

Best Motion Picture of the Year
Nominees
The Artist
The Descendants
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
The Help
Hugo
Midnight in Paris
Moneyball
The Tree of Life
War Horse

My Winner
The Help – Emma Stone is my ultimate girl crush and how can you not die for Octavia Spencer’s portrayal of Minny. The book is of course better than the movie, but they did a good job in the screen adaptation.

Image Detail

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Nominees
Demián Bichir for A Better Life
George Clooney for The Descendants
Jean Dujardin for The Artist
Gary Oldman for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Brad Pitt for Moneyball

My Winner
Brad Pitt – Baseball, Brad…winning combination if you ask me. Ok, I haven’t actually seen this movie. But name a movie Brad isn’t steller in? He’s a legend.

Image Detail

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Nominees
Glenn Close for Albert Nobbs
Viola Davis for The Help
Rooney Mara for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Meryl Streep for The Iron Lady
Michelle Williams for My Week with Marilyn

My Winner
Wow, this is a tough one. It’s a toss up for me between Viola Davis and Meryl Streep. Both women are strong actresses who can carry a movie. I would be happy to see either one win.

Image Detail

Image Detail

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Nominees
Kenneth Branagh for My Week with Marilyn
Jonah Hill for Moneyball
Nick Nolte for Warrior
Christopher Plummer for Beginners
Max von Sydow for Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

My Winner
Jonah Hill – How awesome is it that he is nominated?! That he went from this

Image Detail

to being an Oscar nominee.

Image Detail

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Nominees
Bérénice Bejo for The Artist
Jessica Chastain for The Help
Melissa McCarthy for Bridesmaids
Janet McTeer for Albert Nobbs
Octavia Spencer for The Help

My Winner
Another toss up! Go Octavia and Melissa!! Both women are hilarious and provided well-delivered comic relief in their movies. I want them both to win.

Image Detail

Image Detail

Best Achievement in Directing
Nominees
Woody Allen for Midnight in Paris
Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist
Terrence Malick for The Tree of Life
Alexander Payne for The Descendants
Martin Scorsese for Hugo

My Winner
Martin Scorsese – Ok, I haven’t seen Hugo, but I heard it was amazing. And Scorsese is an icon. Let’s give him another Oscar!

Image Detail

Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen
Nominees
The Artist : Michel Hazanavicius
Bridesmaids : Kristen Wiig, Annie Mumolo
Margin Call : J.C. Chandor
Midnight in Paris : Woody Allen
A Separation : Asghar Farhadi

My Winner
Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo – If they don’t win for best writing I’m going boycott Hollywood. Ok, not really. But I mean come on! First of all, women writers…yes! Secondly, this was the funniest movie of 2011 by far. And I mean does creepy Woody Allen really need another award? No.

The rest of the awards are eh…I named the main one’s I’m interested in. Except “Best Animated Film,” and that my winner for that is Rango because Johnny Depp does Rango’s voice. And Johnny is my secret boyfriend. Don’t tell Marcus.

I probably should have done this post after I watched a few more of the movies, but I don’t think my opinion will change. I am confident enough in my movie choices to know what I like.

And not to be a Negative Nancy, but a lot of times the nominees are totally overrated. We finally watched Winter’s Bone after it got so much hype last year and we were like uhhh, that’s it? But I have to admit, my girl Jennifer Lawrence was legit. Katniss Everdeen for life!

And Harry Potter for life!

Image Detail

Ok, I’m done. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

