A Must Try

After I saw this picture on Pinterest, I immediately repinned and made a mental note to try it soon. For all those too lazy to click the link, this is the picture I am referring to…

Pinned Imagesource

This is a potato lovers dream. I mean how easy, yet so different is this recipe?! I’ve never seen anything like it. And while regular ol’ potatoes aren’t Paleo, I had to make this for supper last night. It looked too good to pass up.

I found the original recipe and followed it exactly. I began with two big russet potatoes.

It took time, but I thinly sliced each one into tiny strips, taking care not to slice all the way through.

Then came the hard part…waiting for 40 minutes for the potatoes to cook. While they were cooking, I prepared veggie, chicken curry. I simply cut up four chicken breasts and cooked them in a little olive oil for about 10 minutes. Then I added half a red bell pepper, 1/4 yellow onion, two cups of broccoli and two teaspoons of minced garlic. I finished it all off with a jar of TJ’s curry sauce and one cup of water. 

I let it all simmer on low the entire time the potatoes cooked. This allowed for the chicken to cook through and the flavors to mesh. At the end, I added a few sprinkles of sea salt, ground pepper and garlic powder. Easy peasy!

The best part of the meal was definitely my accordion potatoes. They didn’t exactly have the golden yellow of the picture I pinned, but I was still happy with the outcome. The taste reminded me of scalloped potatoes with the skin. That’s how soft they were inside. Win!

Instead of chicken, I had curry veggies and a big scoop of cottage cheese. I mixed it all together and made a delicious mess.  

What’s even better is, you can use this same method when cooking sweet potatoes and baby potatoes. The possibilities are endless. I’m super excited to try this again and making it more Paleo-friendly for Marcus.

I ❤ Pinterest. So many good ideas in one place! Have a fab one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

