The Best Chili in America

I have done it. I have developed and perfected a go to chili recipe. A recipe that tastes awesome every single time and tastes 100x better the next day. I have a love/hate relationship with preparing food like chili and soup. I always get the texture wrong…too much water, too many spices, etc.

One of Marcus’ favorite things to tease me about is a thing we like to call “choup.” What is it? Is it chili, or is it soup? Yes, that’s how a lot of my creations have turned out in the past. But, after making this recipe three times, I think it’s safe to say that I am out of choup land.

Ingredients
1 package of ground beef
3 strips of bacon (optional)
1 can of black beans
1 small can of diced tomatoes with chiles
half a jar of tomato sauce
1 can of corn, or half of a bag of frozen corn
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 yellow onion
1/2  red pepper
2 teaspoons minced garlic
salt, pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne (all optional based on taste and preference)

1. If using bacon, cook on stove top until done and reserve grease. Drain on paper towel then cut bacon into bite-sized pieces.
2. Prepare ground beef in same skillet to incorporate some of the bacon-y flavor goodness into the beef.
3. In a large pot, heat olive oil until hot and add onion and peppers.
4. Once onions become translucent, add minced garlic and combine.
5. One by one add remaining ingredients. You may want to add a little water if the mixture looks too thick. Make sure to drain corn and bean juice before adding to mix.
6. Stir in ground beef and bacon.
7. Add spices according to your taste. Stir everything together really well. *This is where I always have trouble. I tend to be heavy handed with the spices. So I try to add a small amount and go from there.
8. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes.
9. Uncover, turn off heat, or keep it realllly low and let chili sit for 15 minutes. This will allow it to thicken up and ensure that you will not be made fun of for making choup.

That’s it! Now I’m sure there are better chili recipes out there (like my mom’s), but in our house, this really is the bomb dot com. Marcus loves it and requests it often. Even I can’t resist  “The Best Chili in America” despite it not being vegetarian. It’s just too good. I topped mine with spoonful of cottage cheese and lots of hot sauce last night…and now I wish I packed some for lunch.

I would have added pictures. But a) you all know what chili looks like and b) chili photographs terribly (especially my pictures)  and I didn’t want to subject you to that. You’re welcome.

And in other news – I have my breast MRI and pelvic ultrasound scheduled for Monday morning. No fun, but necessary. I’ll let you all know how it goes!

Have a fab one! 🙂

2 responses to “The Best Chili in America

  1. I am making that for the guys! I know we will all love it!!

  2. That sounds so good! I might have to try this soon!

Leave a Reply

