Good Eats

We’ve been eating pretty well over in the Delish World house. I haven’t been blogging our meals much lately because the recipes are never earth shattering and the pictures are less than steller. But the more I think about it, the more I realize that some people may be interested (especially the Paleo eaters out there), so I decided to share today.

I don’t have the time, resources and let’s be real, patience to take gorgeous pictures of food. There are amazing blogs that do. But, I do put a lot of effort into our meals and am always conscious of the food that we put into our bodies, so that outa count for something.

In the past few days I have made the following –

Buffalo sautéed shrimp, roasted green beans and acorn squash – topped with a little butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. Acorn squash has become one of Marcus’ favorite side items, which just delights me. Because at one point he claimed he didn’t like squash. Adding a touch of brown sugar and cinnamon makes it taste more like a dessert and satisfies your sweet tooth all while providing lots of goodness.

Buffalo baked chicken, mashed sweet potatoes, Trader Joe’s “soycatash.” I got the recipe for the sweet potatoes from this awesome Paleo food blog. We both LOVED this recipe. I followed it exactly and was so happy with the results. I had some of the leftover sweet potatoes for lunch the next day and it was like Thanksgiving in my mouth – so good and so sweet.

Chicken cacciatore and roasted broccoli. I found the recipe for the chicken on this site. I am IN LOVE with this web site. It has so many ideas for every meal. I am pretty excited to have such a large index of recipes all in one place. I learned that “cacciatore” means  “hunter” in Italian. How perfect is that? Seeing as that Paleo goes back to the primal way of eating. We both really enjoyed this dish (I picked the chicken out of mine to make it vegetarian.) It was super simple and flavorful.

Crock pot pulled pork. I simply bough some pork tenderloin from TJ’s, and added it to the crock pot with onions, salt, pepper, garlic and a bit of water. I let it cook on low for about 8 hours. Then when the meat was super tender, I added some TJ’s Kansas-style BBQ sauce and called it good. Marcus devoured the pulled pork. I’m sure the BBQ sauce isn’t Paleo, but  I can definitely make a homemade version that is.

So that is how we have been surviving as a mostly Paleo/vegetarian household. When he has meat, I usually make myself tofu or tempeh. It’s not too much extra work and I always have enough for multiple meals. Keeping meals interesting has been a challenge. But I enjoy looking at different recipes and trying new things, so it hasn’t been too much of a pain…yet.

And on another note…ROLL TIDE!! Alabama won the National Championship game last night against LSU. Don’t hate me dad, but I didn’t watch the game. But I’ll still give em love. Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer!

And because Jay Z can do no wrong, here’s his new song, Glory. He wrote it for his and Beyonce’s new baby, Blue Ivy. ❤

Have a fab one! 🙂

One response to “Good Eats

  1. Yummmmm…..I love the recipes!

Leave a Reply

