Frozen 5k – Race Recap

Last week, I randomly decided to sign up for a 5k. I have never run a 5k before. I typically sign up for longer distance races because I like the challenge and all of the hype that surrounds big races. But after running the Fairfax 4 Miler on New Year’s Eve, I realized that I quite enjoy running shorter races. It feels really good to be done running in minutes as opposed to hours.

Let me just preface this by saying that Saturday night we went to a friend’s Festivus party at her family’s house where we took pictures that looked like this.

 

My friend’s dad is marrying us and they’re all invited to the wedding. So we went to the party so they could see what a lush classy lady I am.

I’m sure you can imagine how I felt when my alarm went off at 5:30 Sunday morning. But I womaned up, chugged some Gatorade, told myself that it was only 3 miles and hit the road.

The race was held at the Freedom Center in Manassas. Luckily, bib pick up was inside and runners were able to hang and stretch in the warmth before the race. While I was hanging out, I saw skinny Elvis. Looks like running helped him drop the jiggle.

Another cool thing about the race was that they had coffee and water available for the runners before the race. I didn’t have any, but I thought it was a nice gesture. There were also plenty of bathrooms, which is so necessary before a race.

At 8:30am, the race started. I felt the way I always do when I cross the start line – like a warrior. It’s such an awesome feeling, no matter the distance.

The course was pretty boring. We just weaved around the parking lots and roads in front of the George Mason Manassas campus. Weird…I just realized that two weeks in a row, I ran two races around both of GMU’s campuses. Ok, not that weird? Whatever.

What I did like about the course was that there were lots of times where the runners did a U turn and doubled back, so as I was running on one side of the road, other’s were running towards me on the other side of the road. I am always impressed by people who can run really fast. So I got a good look at all the people who were just going balls to the wall.

After about 30 minutes…the race was over just like that! I sprinted the final 100 yards with a tall guy who I ran near for much of the race. I would pass him, then he would pass me. As we approached the finish line, I kicked it up and notch, then he did, then I did. Finally, he said, “come on.” And we both zoomed across the finish mats. He beat me but it was good motivation to finish strong.

At the end of the race, we got tiny little medals. There was also a spread of water, bananas, muffins and coffee…not bad for a small 5k race. I grabbed my medal, water, half a muffin and called it a day.

I really enjoyed the race, despite the fact that the course was a little boring. BRATS (Bristow Tri and Swim) did an awesome job and really took care of the runners. There were lots of police officers and volunteers along the course. Everyone was super nice. We also got long sleeve tee shirts in our goodie bags, which I love. I am starting to get quite the collection of race gear. It was just a positive experience all around. I liked the 5k distance and would run this race again.

After I got home, I spent the rest of the day cleaning up a bit, cooking, relaxing and watching Friday Night Lights. I was feeling pretty wheezy after the race due to still being sick and having lots of chest congestion. Good thing I had Marcus and this little guy to keep me company.

Have a fab one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

