2012 Goals

It’s that time of year again…you know where you look back on the past year and go wow that was awesome, or wow that sucked.

Overall, I have to say my 2011 was pretty amazing. I felt like it went by way too fast. But isn’t that how it always is? I’m not really a resolution kind of person. Mainly because I’ll make them then forget them 5 minutes later. So instead of resolutions, I’m going to set goals. Goals, resolutions…call it what you will. I’m a goal oriented person, so that’s what I’m going with.

My main personal goal in 2012 is to have a kick ass, stress free wedding.

Oh look…you’ve never seen this picture before!

I want to fully enjoy the experience. I mean it’s only going to happen once and I want to be fully present and happy that day. I tend to get wound up easily. On our big day, I want to be calm, excited, nervous…but not stressed. I want to smile. I want to dance. I want to celebrate. I want to look back and say yup, that was the best day of my life and now I’m married to my best friend. So I’m really going to work on chilling out, and letting things happen even if it’s not according to plan.

My second personal goal is to be the best maid of honor I can be for my best friend.

Where it all began…

She is getting married in June and I want her day and the days leading up to it to be as fun and care free as possible. I want to throw her a wild and crazy bachelorette party. I want to create unforgettable memories with all of our friends. And I want to be there to support her any way I can.

My main fitness goal is to run a full marathon in 2012 – the Marine Corps Marathon in October to be exact.

MCM…you are mine!

Registration opens in March. You better believe that I will be on that web site, ready to sign up, the second I can. I have run six half marathons. It’s about time to add another distance to the mix. I get ridiculously nervous just thinking about it. But I am determined and focused. I will run a full marathon next year and I will run it strong.

My main life goal is to manage my money better.

I don’t have any pictures of money. Here’s Bill sitting at the table like a human which is better than money anyways.  

This will be a challenge since we have so many money-sucking events coming up next year. But I want to feel financially confident and make smart choices for our future.

My main blog goal is to find and develop my voice.

If I don’t find my blog voice, I will just show you more pictures of Bill as a kitten with his big head and little neck.

I don’t consider myself a stellar writer by any means but it is something I enjoy and something that comes fairly easily to me. My blog doesn’t have a whole lot of focus or direction. But blogging is a fun hobby and great way to document my life. I want to become a better writer, blogger and work to better understand the behind the scenes/web stuff.

I have lots of smaller things I want to work on throughout the next year as well. I want to be a better partner to Marcus – more patient and kind. I want to spend more time with my family. That’s an easy one. I love my family and want to be around them more. I want to progress professionally. I have two degrees and a good amount of work experience. Time to make moves. I want to become a better runner – faster, increase my endurance, stretch more. I want to be an all around healthier person. There’s always room for improvement and I aim to make positive changes with my health.

I will do this better, next year.

And lastly, I want to choose to be happy. Too often I find myself stuck in the stress of the day – traffic, work, too much time behind a desk, missed workouts, bad weather, feeling fat etc. If I let these things get to me, then I will never be happy. So in 2012, I want to be happy. I have a pretty awesome life. So instead of letting the little negative stuff get to me, I need to remember all the good things and be grateful.

Cat masks and kittens make me happy/I look ridiculous.

So that’s that, my goals for 2012. They have been written. I can officially be held accountable.

What are some of your goals for next year? 

Have a fab one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

