A Couple That Bakes Together

A couple that bakes together, stays together…or something like that.  Last night, Marcus and I were on a mission to fill the house with (even more) Christmas cheer and bake cookies. We have never baked anything together, ever. Why this seemed like a good idea? I do not know.

I chose an “easy” recipe – classic Nestle Toll House chocolate chip cookies.

I’ve made these a few times in my adult years, and my mom has made them countless times during my childhood. It was an easy enough task – simple ingredients, a few minutes of stirring, 10 minutes of baking and BOOM cookie perfection.

These were the cookies of our dreams. Our actual cookies were more of a nightmare.

So we got to work. I attempted to take part but just ended up telling Marcus what to do because let’s face it, I like telling people what to do. When it came time to add the eggs, we missed one very import step.

See it? “Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.” Yeaaaa. That didn’t happen. But we figured it wouldn’t matter. It all ends up in the same bowl anyways, right?

Once the dough was all mixed, Marcus added little drops to the cookie sheet and we sat in the kitchen with anticipation, ready to grab the milk…

This was the result of our amazing baking experiment – not pretty, chewy, warm, chocolatey cookies. No – flat, cookie pancakes with crispy burnt edges.

Best bakers ever, right here. So we did what anyone would do. We grabbed the milk and forks and ate our cookie pancakes straight from the pan. They may have been flat, but they tasted good.

I have no idea if the eggs caused our demise or something else. But let’s just say that we are pretty hopeless as a baking team. Oh well. You win some. You lose some.

And to stay with the theme of total holiday disasters, we ended the night by watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Because if anyone can make you feel better, it’s Clark Griswold and his hot mess of a Christmas.

Have a fab one! 🙂

2 responses to “A Couple That Bakes Together

  1. It looks like you had fun and that is the best part!

  2. Aw I can’t wait to have a big kitchen to bake in! I make some traditional butter cookies with pecans and after I baked them I noticed they looked weird…I forgot to put the pecan halves on them!

Leave a Reply

