A Paleo Pizza Experiment

As you know, Marcus has been on the Paleo diet for a few months now and has some awesome results. I make an effort to keep his meals as clean, healthy and Paleo as possible. But I have to admit, there are only so many ways I can prepare meat, veggies and fruit without running out of ideas.

I check out Paleo blogs, message boards and recipes every few days to try and find new ways to make meals interesting. The other day I came across recipes for Paleo pizza crust. I combined a few recipes I saw and kind of made up my own thing using ingredients I already had. It was definitely an experiment, but is pizza ever really bad? I figured that even bad pizza is still pretty awesome.

Ingredients
2 cups* of almonds (I used almond slivers because that’s all I had)
1/2 cup* of flax seeds
2 eggs
olive oil
garlic
sea salt
Italian seasoning

*You guys know by now that I don’t measure anything. I just estimate and throw in a handful of this and that.

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease two round cake pans.

2. Grind almonds and flax into a flour using a blender, food processor or Magic Bullet. I used my Magic Bullet and it worked great with minimal clean up. Don’t blend too long or you will end up with almond butter.

3. Add almond/flax flour to a mixing bowl along with other ingredients. You can buy almond flour, but making it only took an extra minute.

4. Mix well until a “dough” ball forms. My ball was very sticky and not very maneuverable. But I just went with it.

5. Divide dough and press into prepared cake pans. Grease hands with cooking spray if you need to. This makes it 100x easier to handle the dough.

6. Bake the dough in the oven for 7 minutes to crisp up.

7. While dough is cooking, prepare toppings. I made ground beef for Marcus along with sautéed onions, peppers and black olives.

8. Add toppings and cook pizzas for 6 more minutes. Along with the veggies and beef, I also added pizza sauce, fresh spinach and cheese for me. (Marcus saw my cheese after and wanted some on his. Not Paleo, but delicious so it’s fine.)

Ok, so this experiment turned out pretty well. The dough formed a solid crust and I was able to cut through it and pick it up pretty well. But it is fragile, so we ate our pizzas with forks.

You definitely could not tell that it was made with nuts. I was afraid the taste of almonds would be overpowering but it wasn’t. Marcus had to ask twice what the crust was made with because he couldn’t believe it was almonds, flax and eggs.

This recipe and execution aren’t perfect by any means. If I had more patience and took my time, I probably could have made it better. But it was fun to try out. This Paleo crust will never replace the pizza we know and love, but it is a way to stick to the diet (minus the cheese) and still enjoy pizza.

It was really filling. We both ate half of our pizzas. I am interested though in the calorie count for the crust. Nuts and olive oil are pretty high in fat and calories, so that is something to keep in mind and not go overboard on. I will try to measure and calculate next time.

All in all, it was a fun and successful experiment. We both really enjoyed our meals. Even better was that we sat at the table with classic Christmas carols playing on Pandora. I just love Christmas time! Don’t ever end.

I even got a kiss under the mistletoe. 😉

Have any of you Paleo-ers out there attempted Paleo pizza? How did it turn out?

Have a fab one!

 

 

Leave a Reply

