Holiday Traditions

I didn’t blog yesterday. I kept meaning to, but just got lazy. Eh, it happens. To make up for my lack of posting, I am here to deliver a steller holiday survey. Because I know all of you out there are Nosey Nellies and love reading people’s responses to mundane questions. Wait, is that just me?

Ah well, here are my awesome holiday traditions given to you MySpace survey style:

Eggnog or hot chocolate?

I like both, but don’t HAVE to have either. I much prefer Starbucks’ seasonal coffee.

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

Santa always left our presents unwrapped beside the tree. Tyler had a massive pile and I had a massive pile. After digging through our stockings, we would check out what Santa left us and THEN open up all the wrapped gifts. The whole process took about an hour. That’s one hour of unwrapping gift after gift. Christmas was awesome when we were kids!

Colored lights on tree/house or white?

We’re not much of a white light family. The more color and flash, the better. So we go with colored lights inside and outside.

Do you hang mistletoe?

Nope, never have. But I think it’s cute. I should get some next year!

When do you hang your decorations up?

In October….no just kidding. Usually Thanksgiving weekend although this year they went up the week of Thanksgiving. I just couldn’t wait.

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

Every Christmas morning my mom makes biscuits and gravy. After unwrapping presents, mom gets to work on Christmas breakfast. It’s definitely my favorite meal of the day.

Favorite holiday memory as a child?

When we were younger, Ty and I used to sleep together in the den on Christmas Eve and count down the hours until we could wake up mom and dad. We would watch A Christmas Story (because it plays repeatedly on Christmas Eve/day). We were always too excited for presents to sleep.

This is not us sleeping on Christmas Eve. This is me choking a kitten and Tyler’s big, bald, baby dome.

What is on your Christmas wish list?

The main thing I asked for this year was running stuff. I need new shoes for the 2012 season. I never spend money on running gear, so I’m excited to see what I get!

Buy me more of these!

Do you open a gifts on Christmas Eve?

As kids, we opened our Christmas pajamas on Christmas Eve. Then we took our annual picture in front of the tree with one of the pets if we were able to wrangle them long enough for a pic.

Since living together, Marcus and I have opened our gifts to each other on Christmas Eve because we always go to my parents house early Christmas morning.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

My family’s tree is decorated with colored lights, annual ornaments and lots of other random ornaments and crafts from our childhood. Mine and Marcus’ tree is pretty similar except with a lot more glitter and metallic colors.  

Snow? Love it or dread it?

I like it, ok. I think it’s really pretty when falling. I like to play in it for about 30 minutes, but it’s a real pain in the butt when you have to get out and drive in it. Mainly because snow in the DC area = the end of the world and 1,000,000 accidents.

Real tree or fake tree?

Real all the way. I don’t think I will ever get a fake tree.  

Dad and I on our annual tree shopping trip.

Do you remember your favorite gift?

One year, Santa brought Ty and I a hockey net, roller blades and street hockey equipment. It was so awesome. Since we lived in Florida, it was warm enough to strap on our roller blades and play hockey all day. 

The only bad part was Santa left a note on the hockey goal that said, “For Taylor and Tyler.” The note was written in mom’s handwriting. And that’s how I knew mom and dad were really Santa.  It’s ok though. Santa still left really great presents up until I left for college. Thanks Santa! 🙂

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Being with Marcus, my family and his family

You can tell a lot about us by our snuggie patterns.

What is your favorite holiday dessert?

Everything my mom makes – peanut butter blossoms, peanut butter and jelly squares, pie, cookies…it’s all good!

What is your favorite tradition?

Driving around looking at Christmas lights while listening to Christmas music. Marcus and I have exciting plans to go check out lights on Saturday.

What tops your tree?

A star

Do you prefer giving or receiving?

I really think I like giving more. I am always so excited to give my gifts and seeing how my family reacts to them. I take gift buying very seriously.

What is your favorite Christmas song?

Sleigh Ride…this version because I love the horse at the end. It’s just such a classic.

Favorite Christmas movie?

Home Alone 1 and 2, although I like 2 better. We’re watching it tonight!

What do you leave for Santa?

Cookies and milk for Santa and carrots for the reindeer.

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

As kids, we woke our parents up at like 5am to see what Santa brought us. It took a long time before they were able to convince us to sleep later. Then we would run into the living room and geek out over our gifts. When it came time to unwrap presents, we went order oldest to youngest, one at a time – dad, mom, me, Ty. If someone had more, sometimes they got two turns. We still unwrap presents like this, except now Marcus is included in the rotation. Haha, we’re so weird.

Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

I usually prefer to shop at the mall because I love the decorations, but I am sad to say that I have not gone to a mall at all this season. Online shopping is just so much more convenient.

Christmas letter or Christmas card?

I like receiving them, but I don’t send any out. Mom does sometimes but I am way too lazy to do it myself. Maybe once we have a kid I will. But for now I’ll just say it like this…

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Lay it on me….what are some of your Christmas traditions? I love how every family is different! Happy Friday! 🙂

2 responses to “Holiday Traditions

Leave a Reply

