Cupcakes and Wine

Thanks to Duncan Hines for sponsoring my writing. There’s no limit to the baking possibilities, so grab your favorite Duncan Hines mix and Comstock or Wilderness fruit fillings and Bake On! www.duncanhines.com.

Over the weekend, two of my best friends came to town for a girl’s night. We all live in different areas of Virginia, and don’t see each other nearly enough. With the holidays approaching, chilly temperatures and the need to catch up on the gossip, nothing sounded better than staying in the warm house with lots of movies, cupcakes and wine.

I prepared for the visit by whipping up some cupcakes. I chose devil’s food and red velvet with cream cheese frosting because you can’t go wrong with chocolate and red velvet is so pretty and Christmasy.

After they arrived, I drove them by our wedding venue. Then we had an awesome lunch at Zoe’s Kitchen where I had the Greek salad (soooo good!) After lunch, we went back to the house and got to the wine.

I love when my friend’s come to town. We spent hours laughing, talking, checking out wedding ideas online and watching movies. We got to watch all the movies that the boyfriends refuse to see like, Friends with Benefits and of course Mean Girls.

I don’t think Bill was too thrilled to take Christmas pictures!

We quoted the whole movie. It never gets old.

After a while, the cupcakes were calling our names. I had them in the fridge to keep the frosting from getting too melty and they were amazing. There’s nothing like chilled cream cheese frosting and moist red velvet cake.

 It was the perfect night. Sometimes you have to keep the heels and sequins in the closet and opt for sweatpants, best friends, dessert, a Christmas tree and girl talk. On Sunday, I hosted a 31 party for my friend Lindsey. They rest of the cupcakes were quickly consumed and enjoyed by all of my guests.

It was a festive and fun weekend – just the thing I needed to get into the holiday spirit.

Remember to check out Duncan Hines’ website www.duncanhines.com to find some great recipes for your holiday get-together! I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective.

2 responses to “Cupcakes and Wine

  1. I love Duncan Hines cakes I make it with a can of Pumkin and some applesauce. Comes out yummy and more figure friendly. Looks like great times with the girls. Looks like your Holidays are kicking off just great.

  2. Thank you for not posting any of the “lets make faces” pictures! HAHA! And ps- the cupcakes were FABULOUSS!!!!

Leave a Reply

