Hot Chocolate 15k

Tomorrow I am running the Hot Chocolate 15k at the National Harbor in Maryland.

Image DetailThis is the National Harbor. It’s in Maryland, not DC

I definitely did not plan on running a race in December, but after I saw it advertised all over Facebook, I thought why not? I’m excited about this race because it’s a new distance. 15k is 9.3 miles, so this will be my shortest race to date.

Image Detail

I am less nervous today then usual. Nine miles is a very doable distance for me, so I am excited to attack the course and see what it brings me. There are some hills thrown in, including the same hill I encountered on mile 12 of the Wilson Bridge Half Marathon. The hills will be tough, but I love a good challenge.  

This is a nationally ran race with stops in various cities across the U.S. 20,000 5k and 15k runners will be at the National Harbor tomorrow. That’s a lot of people! I don’t usually gravitate towards these types of races. They’re crowded, seem to be all about making money and don’t feel very personal.

But I have yet to run it, so I will save my judgements for afterwards. Yesterday, I drove to the National Harbor to pick up my packet. I’m glad I went during the day because it was pretty crowded. I can’t imagine what it was like after work, during rush hour.

Hello Wilson Bridge and huge Christmas tree. You’re pretty.

Packet pickup went off without any issues. I always love visiting the National Harbor. It’s so pretty and new. Plus all the Christmas decorations warmed my heart.

My only complaint is that the windbreakers included in the race packet ran super small. They had a place where you could try them on and get a different size. But I ignored it, because I was in a rush to get back to work. So I will just look like Chris Farley from Tommy Boy when I wear my windbreaker.

I’m excited for the race tomorrow. The race bibs have our names on them, which I just LOVE. I hope I wake up with a calm stomach and loose legs. You never know how you are going to feel race morning, so that’s the one thing that makes me anxious.

My main gripe about this whole situation are the other runners. They are blowing up the Hot Chocolate Facebook page with complaint after complaint. I cannot for the life of me understand how people are just NOW realizing that the race is not actually in DC. Do they not check the website and course out before signing up?

Hello…every event held within the Metro area is automatically labeled as DC even if it’s not actually in the District. Washington Redskins anyone…yeah, they play in Landover, Maryland. But that doesn’t sound as cool does it?

Just stop complaining. Stop complaining about hills, cold weather, shuttles, parking. There’s going to be 20,000+ people there…of course there are shuttles and multiple parking lots.  

Anyways! I’m ready to run! I just want to cross that start line and do my thing. I love races. I haven’t run one since the Wilson Bridge Half in October, so I’m due. Cross your fingers for me that I don’t have to karate chop people tomorrow morning for being dumb dumbs. Oh, and cross your fingers that I have a good race.

Name on the bib…makes me feel like a baller

Thanks! 🙂

2 responses to “Hot Chocolate 15k

  1. Pingback: Hot Chocolate 15k – Race Recap |

  2. Pingback: Hot Chocolate 15k – Race Recap |

Leave a Reply

