The Countdown is On

It’s officially Thanksgiving week. It just a few short days I will be stuffing myself silly…the countdown is on!

Yesterday, I cooked a roast in the crock pot. I bought a bottom cut from my egg friends at the farmer’s market on Saturday, along with my usual two dozen eggs. The eggs and meat come from a farm called The Lamb’s Quarter. They are located in Maryland and come to the Old Town farmer’s market every Saturday morning.

The owner, Jim believes in giving people an alternative to the mass produced, mass transit, supermarket culture. He is supporter of eating local, natural, sustainable food. Everything they sell at the farm is grown, raised, and taken care of on site. The first time I met Jim, I asked him if he had happy chickens. He guaranteed that his chickens were happy and treated well.

I made the roast by seasoning it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute. I filled the crock pot with about 2 inches of water and added lots of onion, carrots and celery. I let the roast cook on slow for 3 hours, then high for 4 hours.

All day long the house was filled with the delicious smell of cooking roast. It turned out perfect…tender and not too dry.

Now that’s a meal I can stand behind.

In other food news, I am obsessed with TJ’s broccoli slaw – sautéed with mushrooms, sesame seeds and soy sauce…mmm mmm. It’s the perfect base for salads and awesome for lunch because I can just throw it in a bowl with beans and other veggies.

TJ’s now sells coconut oil. Last week, I spread some on acorn squash along with cinnamon and brown sugar.

Are you hungry yet?

In other news, Bill is still adorable when he falls asleep in his tuna can. He melts my heart. 🙂

This is my race wall. Not sure I’m crazy about the bulletin board, but I couldn’t think of any other way to display my bibs (without spending a ton of money) because I’ll be continuously adding more.

And yes, I keep my bibs. I work hard in those races. They are memories I want to keep forever.

And the winner of my Trader Joe’s Holiday Giveaway is Leanne Hanlon. Message me your address – delishworld@gmail.com, and I’ll send you your prize!

Thanks everyone, for commenting and reading! It is so appreciated! 🙂

Is it Thursday, yet? I can hear the pumpkin roll calling my name!

 

Leave a Reply

