Paleo-what

Hey friends! Today, I am here to talk to you about the Paleo diet. Paleo-what? The Paleo or Paleolithic diet refers to eating as our ancestors once did, prior to modern day agriculture. First things first, let’s assume by diet, I mean way of eating and not just a temporary fad to lose weight.

 
With Paleo, you can eat lean meats, vegetables, some fruit, a little bit of starch and good fats. The idea of the diet is to revert back to a way of eating that is designed for our bodies – simple, clean, minimally processed, ingredients you can name and identify.

Sounds good, right? Those on Paleo should avoid, all processed foods, dairy, grains, sugar, artificial sweeteners, fruit juice, and starchy foods like white potatoes and beans.

Just think about how the cavemen ate and you have Paleo.

So why am I discussing the Paleo diet? As some of you know, my fiance, Marcus has Type 1 diabetes. He was diagnosed at 20 and it turned his world around. He went from an active, young man who could eat and drink whatever he wanted, to someone who had to constantly be aware of his blood sugar, diet and exercise levels.

I have worked hard over the years to morph his diet by limiting processed foods, upping the fruits and veggies, buying grass-fed, hormone-free meat and eggs and cutting down on the sugar. It has helped. But his last doctor visit revealed elevated glucose levels, not good for someone who has to constantly be aware his blood sugar.

We did some reading, and talked to some people and found that they have had good results with Paleo and it can be highly successful for those with Type 1 Diabetes. Successful, meaning that their blood sugar stays stable longer, which means they have to take less insulin throughout the day.

You see, food (especially refined sugar and fast-digesting carbs) can spike his blood sugar very fast, he then needs to take insulin to lower it. The quick rise and fall of insulin levels is not good for the body and can cause all kinds of issues.

So it makes sense that a low carb diet can help with blood sugar regulation. Which is why we decided to implement the Paleo diet for Marcus. He would like to get to the point where he does not need to rely on insulin so much and can be as normal as possible.

We have been flirting with the idea for a while, and really started taking the steps this week. We are easing into it since we both have a lot to learn. But so far his meals have looked like this:

Breakfast
2 egg omelet (farm fresh, organic, cage-free eggs)
3 sausage links (organic, grass-fed)

Lunch
can of tuna (with mayo and mustard…just realized that’s probably not Paleo)
4 deli ham slices (organic, grass-fed, hormone-free)
1/2 cup of edamame (edited to add: Crap! I just read that edamame isn’t Paleo, since it’s a legume)
2 small apples with sunflower seed butter (organic)

Supper
1 chicken breast (organic, hormone-free)
baked potato wedges (organic…not Paleo-friendly)
kale chips (made with olive oil, salt and pepper)

Ok, I realize I sound like an uppity bitch by listing organic this and that, but these factors are important to me. I will explain…

I am a vegetarian. I like the idea of the Paleo diet and the focus on whole, clean foods, but I do not necessarily agree with all that consumption of meat. I love meat, don’t get me wrong, but I do have my own reasons for not eating it. But this is not about me.

Marcus eats meat. So I make sure that I make an effort to buy meat from sources I trust and that he is getting the best quality possible. I also realize that there is no guarantee that just because the package says, “hormone-free, cage-free” etc. does not mean that it is. The only guarantee that you are getting legit meat and eggs is if you research the source, personally. Talk to the farmer, check out the company online, etc.

I have done this for some things I buy. But I am also trusting that Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods are not leading me astray when they package their food. Anyways…

I realize that Marcus’ diet needs work. I am not sure which condiments are Paleo. Potatoes are not Paleo, but they needed to be eaten before they went bad. Like I said, we have a lot to learn. 

 Hopefully, he will notice a change in his blood sugar and insulin levels. You can’t deny that this diet has positive results. Also, I believe that it is very sustainable and that’s important. It takes effort and planning, there’s no doubt about that. But, there are ways to still incorporate foods you enjoy without feeling deprived.

So, if there is anyone out there that can offer tips, insight, whatever…feel free to comment. We are both newbies, here and can use all the help we can get. 

Even though your milk moustache is cute little Marcus, you cannot drink milk on Paleo.

For all those interested, I will update and share our Paleo journey. Tomorrow, I plan on posting about why I am not taking the Paleo route, so stay tuned!!

Have a great day! 🙂

3 responses to “Paleo-what

  1. Pingback: Tacky Tuesday |

  2. Pingback: A Paleo Pizza Experiment |

  3. Pingback: Chicken and Mushrooms |

Leave a Reply

