Jay Z/Kanye West Playlist

As well all know, the Watch the Throne concert is tonight. I’ve only been anxiously awaiting this days since mom bought us the tickets like 3 months ago. And now the day is finally here!!

So in celebration of such an epic event, I give you my Jay Z/Kanye West power playlist. Because you know I’ll be bumpin Jay and Ye all day today.

Jay Z ft. Mary J Blige- Can’t Knock the Hustle
 

My favorite Jay song of all time mainly for this verse, “We do dirt like worms. Produce g’s like sperm. ‘Til legs spread like germs. I got extensive hoes, with expensive clothes. And I sip wine, and spit vintage flows.”

Jay Z ft. Amil and Ja Rule- Can I Get A 

I remember hearing this song in 8th grade, before I was really into hip hop and just thinking it was so hot. I loved the music video and loved that Ja Rule was in the song. I made it my mission to learn all the words.

Kanye West – School Spirit

I don’t think this song was ever released on the radio. I discovered it in college and it became a favorite among me and my besties. We would cruise down College Ave. with the windows down, shouting “Gangstas walk, pimps gon’ talk.”

Kanye West ft. Young Jeezy- Amazing

One of my favorite workout songs of all time.

Kanye West – Through the Wire

I still LOVE this song. Kanye’s first single. His lyrics are just so hot and smart. Plus this was when he was still humble. Humble Kanye >  Taylor Swift soul crushing Kanye.

Jay Z  – La la la

Ah! I die for this song. Jay’s flow is amazing. The Neptunes’ beat is on point. I could listen to this song over and over.

Jay Z and Beyonce – Bonnie & Clyde: Me and my Girlfriend

Of course, I had to show love for Jay and Bey. This was back when artists still made legit music videos.

Kanye West – Gold Digger

This was our anthem Sophomore year of college. We must have danced to this song 100 times.

Kanye West ft. Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj and Jay Z – Monster

This song got me over the hill at mile 12 the first time I ran the Wilson Bridge Half Marathon.

Kanye West and Jay Z – Gotta Have It

One of my favorite songs off the Watch the Throne album. It’s produced by The Neptunes which automatically makes it 100x hotter. And how tight is this line, “I wish I could give you this feeling, I’m planking on a million.”

Jay Z – Blueprint 2

The flutes are on point on this track. Marcus introduced me to this song. It’s a diss record against Nas which I’m not usually a fan of, but I just love Jay’s flow and lyrics.

Kanye West – Stronger

Another fabulous workout song. How can you not kick it into gear with lyrics like, “harder, better, faster, stronger.”

Jay Z ft. UGK – Big Pimpin

How could I not end this playlist with Big Pimpin? It’s a classic. I think this has probably been on everyone’s party playlist at one point or another. I know for a fact that Jay will be performing this song tonight. EPIC!

Ok, I could go on and on. I have many more favorites I could list but alas, this post is getting long and I have other stuff to do.

What is your favorite Jay Z/Kanye West song? Here’s to an awesome night with two of my favorite artists! 😀

One response to “Jay Z/Kanye West Playlist

  1. Stronger is a great anthem for all we go through.

Leave a comment