Rainy Day Motivation

When my alarm when off at 4:15 this morning, my first thought was, “I’m skipping the gym today.” I could hear the rain falling outside and nothing seemed better than catching a few more hours of sleep.

Bill was laying at my feet and also heard my alarm. He started to stir and I knew  that it was only a matter of time before he started bugging me for breakfast. Plus I had to pee. So I really had no choice but to get up and take care of business.

While I was in the bathroom, I thought to myself, “I’m already up. I may as well get ready for the gym.” And just like that, my mindset went from sleep to gym.

Once I got to the gym, I was still kind of dragging. I felt half asleep. But then I remembered this tweet one of my friends posted yesterday. “If I am going to be up at 6 am to work out, you better believe I’m gonna get the most out of it!” (Thanks, Phil!)

How true is that statement?! If I’m going to drag my butt out of bed on a chilly, rainy morning then I better make it worth it. In an instant my energy jumped and I put everything I had into that workout. I squatted deeper, cycled faster and worked through the pain of lactic acid build up.

By 6:15, my workout was finished and I was SO happy that I didn’t choose to sleep in. I will never regret a workout. That’s the truth.

 
I am going to switch gears here and talk about a movement that is very important to me – the o.b.® Share It Forward program. This program is a Facebook application in which people can help raise money for a company called Huru International.

For girls all over the world, sanitary products are a luxury item that often times, cannot be bought. The lack of affordable sanitary protection has had lifelong consequences for adolescent girls in developing countries. Since 2008, Huru has worked to develop a cost-effective solution by producing Huru Kits for girls in need.

Huru Kits are provided to at-risk girls at no cost.  Each Huru Kit comes in a drawstring bag that doubles as a backpack, and includes:

  • Eight reusable sanitary pads
  • Three pairs of underwear
  • Detergent-grade soap to wash the sanitary pads
  • A re-sealable, waterproof bag to safely store used sanitary pads
  • Educational insert focused on proper Huru® pad care and usage, and
  • Life-saving HIV/AIDS prevention information

To participate in the o.b.® Share It Forward program and help spread Huru’s message all you have to do is go to o.b.’s Mighty. Small. Movement Facebook page and click on the “share” button to re-post a message about Huru International’s mission.

With the Share It Forward program, o.b. hopes to raise money for Huru International to provide Huru Kits for girls in need. For every person who shares the message about Huru International’s mission with their network of friends on Facebook, the o.b.® brand will donate $1 to Huru.

So please, take a second and “Like” the page, then go to the “o.b. Outreach” tab and share the message on your own Facebook wall. Such a small gesture can help raise money for products that some girls cannot afford.

Image Detail

Thanks for reading! Have a great day! 🙂

I wrote this review while participating in a campaign by Mom Central Consulting on behalf of o.b. and received a promotional item to thank me for taking the time to participate.

2 responses to “Rainy Day Motivation

  1. Your motivation is impressive! I don’t know how you do it!!

Leave a Reply

