Just Run

I know I’ve been talking about running and races a lot lately, but I can’t help it. I’m obsessed. I feel like I got my groove back – my fire, determination and heart. I don’t know where it went this summer. Maybe it was on vacation, but it’s back.

I didn’t talk about it a lot on the blog because I was trying to remain positive. But I went through a major workout funk during the summer. After the Marine Corps Half last May, I kind of took some time off from running and didn’t pick it back up again for a long time.

For some reason, I stopped looking forward to runs and even questioned if I actually enjoyed running. It started to feel like a chore. Was I really passionate about running? Or did I just fool myself into thinking it was something I loved?

As Austin Powers said, “I lost my mojo.”

Well, it’s back baby! Running my latest half and stepping up my workouts made me feel more like my old self. I just want to run 100 more races. I never want to stop collecting medals. I want to fill up my wall with race bibs. That’s what endorphins will do for you.

My 2012 race calendar is filling up quickly. I have to keep in mind that I am in two weddings next year (my best friend’s and my own), so I am going to far as to plan races around those two important dates.

My ultimate goal is to run the Wilson Bridge Half again in early October and then a very important HUGE race at the end of October, with our wedding in between. *I am being ambiguous about the big race because it sells out quickly and I want to register before I talk about it for real. But anyone who runs, will know what I’m talking about. 😉

Yes, I am planning my life out a year in advance. How very Type A of me. After the Hot Chocolate 15k, my next big race is the Rock n Roll DC in March. For anyone familiar with the Rock n Roll series, they added a DC date! I am SO stoked.

The main reason I am excited about RnR DC is because I plan on running that in March then RnR Va Beach in September. If you run multiple races in the RnR series, you get a “Heavy Medal.” As someone who runs for the bling, the possibility of getting another medal totally makes me want to run more. What can I say? Positive reinforcement works for me.

(source)

Hopefully, a race or two will pop up in between December and March. There aren’t a lot of local options during the winter, so most likely I will be putting in a lot of time at the GW Parkway.

SO amped for the 2012 season. Just run! 😀

Leave a Reply

