Wilson Bridge Half Marathon

It’s here yet again…race weekend! On Sunday I will be running the Wilson Bridge Half Marathon, my 6th half and 2nd time running this race. Pre-race jitters and excitement are out in full force.

I am not super nervous for this race because a)I’ve ran it before so I know exactly what to expect. b) I just ran an 11 mile race and have done a lot of conditioning these past few weeks, so I feel good, physically. c) The GW Parkway is my usual long distance trail, so I have home field advantage.

I have the usual doubts of course. You never know how you are going to feel race morning even if you try your best to feel 100%. When you run long distances everything needs to come together in order to have a good run – legs, stomach, mind, weather…

So I am doing my usual – short runs to keep my legs loose, stretching, lots of water, neutral diet up until race morning, and lots of pep talks and visualization.

The Wilson Bridge Half is an awesome race. The scenery is gorgeous. The course is pretty quiet. And the bridge is a strenuous but amazing part of the race. Running over the Potomac River while being able to see DC, Maryland and Virginia is one of the coolest experiences ever.

And I can’t forget The Awakening statue. How epic is the giant coming out of the ground? Perfect finish line site.

 I am pretty amped to run this race. I feel like my love for running as been reawakened. It took a few months off this summer, but I am definitely feeling the fire again. I truly feel like I am capable of whatever I put my mind to.

Which is why after this year, I’m setting my mind to a full marathon. I’m not going to officially declare it yet. But let’s just say, that it is a constant idea I’m throwing around. You will know when I decide and sign up for sure. Until then, I am using every run as a way to prepare for my next big goal. 🙂

I’m ready to dominate another 13.1 miles. Bring it! 😀

2 responses to “Wilson Bridge Half Marathon

  1. Good luck Taylor!!! You will do great-wish I could be there to cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

