I’m Not Fast

I’m not fast. You will most likely never see race times, or training run stats on this blog. I may be able to run miles and miles at a time, but it’s at about the slowest running pace imaginable. You will not be impressed by how fast I finish a race. I am not that girl who can run a sub 2 half marathon – or even anywhere near it.

I’m not being modest here either. I read lots of blogs where the writers talk about their runs and say they felt slow, then post 7, 8, 9 minute mile race stats. This girl runs a double digit pace, every single time, no matter how the legs are feeling, no matter the distance.

But let’s back up here. Growing up, I was an athlete but I was never a runner. I ran because it was part of the sport, but I never set out to run for fun. In fact, I used to dread running distances of any kind, and yes 1 mile was considered distance.

Send me around the bases 20 times during softball practice, but make me run 1 mile as a warm-up and I automatically got that sinking feeling in my stomach.

You would never look at me and think that I am a runner. My muscles are not long and lean. More like short and compact. I have the body of a ball player, not one of a runner. There’s a lot going on with these legs of mine.

 
No matter how hard I push myself, or how fast I want to run, I pretty much run the same pace, consistently, every single race. Sometimes this bothers me. I mean who wouldn’t like to brag about amazing race times? I read blogs every day and get jealous of the girls who seem to effortlessly run so fast.

But I’m not one of them. I may be a runner, but I am not a fast runner. And the more I think about it, the more I’m fine with it. No, I won’t be bragging about my race pace any time soon. But I will brag that I dominated those hills, or ran for an entire 13.1 miles.

So I am here to say, it’s ok. It’s ok if you’re not fast. More important than speed is the fact that you are even out there. Whether it’s a mile on the track or 20 miles on a trail, you are running and that’s awesome.

Running is hard. Not everyone can do it. So when those thoughts of defeat creep into my head, I remind myself that my ability to run is a gift. Just a few years ago, distance running used to cause me anxiety. Now it brings me joy, and that’s an amazing thing.

So whether you are super speedy, or slow and steady, OWN IT. Do not be ashamed of your ability or compare yourself to other’s. Because at the end of the day, we all cross that same finish line and we all get the same medal. And that’s what I love about running.

I think this quote says it all –

“The ultimate is not to win, but to reach within the depths of your capabilities and to compete against yourself to the greatest extent possible. When you do that, you have dignity. You have the pride. You can walk about with character and pride no matter in what place you happen to finish.”

Just run. Have a fab one! 😀

12 responses to “I’m Not Fast

  1. Love this post, Taylor! Love your blog! 🙂

  2. Story of my life 🙂 Love this post!

    Reminds me of when I went to see Kara Goucher speak, and she talked about her RECOVERY pace… and the entire audience groaned. Now my friends and I talk about running at Kara Goucher 9-months pregnant pace.

  3. Love it!!!! I used to be a much faster runner, but I am far prouder of my double digit miles and the longer distances 🙂 Keep it up girl!

  4. Great post love! You ran fast to my heart!

  5. This is a wonderful post! I too was not a fast runner, but I went out everday. If you want to work on speed, try interval training. It helped me many years ago! Love you and am proud of what you are accomplishing.

  6. Pingback: Lunch Running |

  7. Rock the double digit miles! Love it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog, enjoying catching up on yours.

  8. Pingback: The “I’m Not Fast” Store |

  9. Pingback: Running Thoughts |

Leave a Reply

