Two Easy Recipes

The other day, one of my friends suggested that when I talk about our dinners, I list the recipes and give step by step instructions. She said this would be helpful for people who are trying to learn to cook.

I thought this was a great idea and a welcome suggestion. I am no expert by any means, but there are a few simple things that I cook relatively well. So I am definitely willing to break it down for readers who want it.

Here are two easy recipes I made last night for dinner. They are quick and healthy and one’s I make often. Before you start cooking, you need a sous chef. Bill was quite the helper. 😉

First up, we have kale chips. Kale can be found in most major grocery stores either pre-bagged or on the stem. I buy mine pre-bagged from Trader Joe’s because de-stemming and washing kale is a tedious process.

Ingredients (serves 2)
half a small bag of kale for TJ’s
cooking spray
olive oil
salt
pepper
cayenne (optional)
garlic powder
nutritional yeast (optional)

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Spray baking sheet with cooking spray.

3) Put desired amount of kale into a mixing bowl. I used about half a bag. It may look like a lot but kale cooks down A LOT, so use a bunch.

4) Add to mixing bowl – 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and desired amount of spices. This step is totally up to you. I don’t measure spices. I just add until I’m satisfied. Just don’t go too heavy on the salt. I use cayenne because I like the spice but it’s totally optional. As is nutritional yeast, which I use for extra protein and B12.

5) Using your hands mix the kale, spices and olive oil reaaaaally well. The more you mix, the better the flavor will be.

6) Spread kale in a single layer onto greased baking sheet.

7) Cook for 5 minutes. Kale should appear crispy and no longer leafy. If still leafy, cook for 2-3 more minutes. Kale cooks very quick, so keep your eye on it.

8 ) Remove pan from oven and flip kale around a few times with a spatula. You should have crispy, crunchy leaves, hence the name “Kale Chips”.

Alright, you have one side item finished for dinner. Onto our other veg – homemade french fries. These are made a lot like the kale chips.

Ingredients (serves 2)
two medium-sized potatoes
cooking spray
olive oil
salt
pepper
garlic powder
Italian seasoning
1/4 onion (optional)

1) Set oven to 400 degrees and spray baking sheet with cooking spray.  

2) Wash and peel potatoes using a peeler.

3) Cut potatoes into fry-like pieces. I do this by cutting each potato in half, then cutting each half in half again. Cut that piece into rectangular pieces. Try to keep them close in size so that they cook evenly.

4) Chop 1/4 of a yellow onion to add to mix. This is optional. I think it adds more flavor.

5) Add potatoes to mixing bowl.

6) In mixing bowl add – 1 tablespoon of olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, Italian seasoning and chopped onion. Again, spice amount is optional. If you are unsure, go light and add seasoning later if you need to.

7) Using your hands, mix potatoes, spices and oil. I like doing it this way because it ensures that all pieces get nice and coated.

8 ) Spread potatoes in a single layer onto a greased baking sheet.

9) Bake for 10 minutes.

10) After 10 minutes, take pan out of oven and flip potatoes using a spatula.

11) Cook for 10 more minutes. Remove from oven and give potatoes one more flip.

Last night, I served kale chips and homemade french fries with crispy tofu for me, and chicken sausages for Marcus.

I think the favorite part of both of our meals was the kale chips.

We are crazy for kale.

So there you have it. Two easy recipes to incorporate into your dinners. Thanks for the suggestion, Kim. 🙂

Have any suggestions or questions? Leave me a comment or even an email – delishworld@gmail.com.

Have a fab one! 🙂

3 responses to “Two Easy Recipes

  1. Yum! That looks amazing. I know what I am making for dinner tonight!

  2. Pingback: Tastes Like Fall |

Leave a Reply

