Ten Years Ago

Where were you ten years ago?

9/11/2001 is a memorable and sad day in American history. On this day ten year ago, I was a junior at Mount Vernon High School in Northern Virginia.

I remember the day as if it just happened. I remember what I was wearing – a blue Abercrombie tee that spelled out “Jock” in baby blue letters and American Eagle jeans. It was the first few days of the new school year. I was 15 years old.

I was sitting in Spanish class. All of the sudden the head security guard’s voice came over the loud speaker. He told everyone to remain calm. There was an attack on the World Trade Center.

I remember that we all looked around at each other confused. My teacher turned on the TV and we saw the smoke billowing from the twin towers. I don’t think any of us grasped what was happening. None of us realized that it was a terrorist attack.

When we were released from class, the hallways were insane. Everyone was trying to figure out what was going on. Then people started talking about the Pentagon. Suddenly the situation got a lot more real. Someone attacked the Pentagon which was just a few miles away from our school.

Somehow I found my brother in the hallway and we immediately thought to call our parents. I had no cell phone service – no one did.  I made my way to a pay phone and reached my mom and dad. They were both home and safe. My dad worked  in DC at the time, but he just had knee surgery so he was recovering at home.

I was grateful that my parents were ok. Unfortunately, the same could not be said for some of my classmates.

I eventually made it to my math class. My teacher didn’t even bother trying to teach. We all sat there and watched the TV of all the coverage. A lot of kids were crying. We were all trying to get a hold of our families. So many kids had parents in DC that they couldn’t get a hold of. We all felt so hopeless, confused and sad.

The days that followed were kind of a blur. We lived on base at the time and it was almost impossible to get home. Terror alerts were so high that every single car was getting checked. Traffic would back up outside of the gates. Everyone was questioned and searched.

It was a scary time. It was hard to understand how and why this happened to our country. The airports shut down. And for a long time a big gaping hole could be seen in the side of the Pentagon.

It’s hard to believe that it was ten years ago. Some parts of that day are so clear, some parts are impossible to remember. In the blink of an eye, our happy, innocent existence was turned around and suddenly we were scared.

But despite the extreme blow we took, America rallied. We stood behind our troops, firefighters and police people, and we stayed strong. Terror was evoked, yes but it did not stay. Ten years later, we are proof that America did not succumb to terrorism.

Today I send out lots of prayers to all those who lost loved ones in the 9/11 attacks. I send out prayers to our troops, firefighters and police at home and oversees. On 9/11, Americans prevailed and we always will.

Where were you on 9/11?

Stay safe out there and have a great day. ❤

2 responses to “Ten Years Ago

  1. Were we in the same class? Because I remember being in Spanish class too when it happened. Hmm..could’ve been.

Leave a Reply

