An Earthquake and Gnocchi

In case you have been living under a rock since yesterday, the East coast was hit with a massive, epic, monstrous earthquake. Not really…but that is certainly how people reacted.

Now I understand that we don’t usually get quakes round these parts, but you would have thought that this was a catastrophic event by how people were reacting. Yes, I know you were scared. A picture fell off your wall. Traumatizing. But come on.

That’s how the DC area is…snow, rain, earthquake…peeps just freak out. Then DC gets evacuated. Then everyone sits in traffic for 3 hours. It’s a good time.

I was on my way to the allergy doc when the quake hit. I was sitting in my truck at a red light and felt it shake a little. I looked around expecting a semi truck or construction near by, but saw nothing but other cars. By the time I got to the doc, the radio was reporting that it was an earthquake. By the time I was finished at the doc, everyone and their mom was fleeing the city. Arma-freakin-geddon.

Anywho, the doc visit went well as I reported yesterday. I am already feeling better after just a few hours of these new meds. Taking deep breaths has never felt so good. I’m hoping to be back to normal in a few days. I’m itching to get back to my routine.

Since I was feeling better, I decided to finally cook a meal this week. Gnocchi has been on my mind for weeks. And after finally buying some from TJ’s, I decided to make it.

Gnocchi is pronounced “nyo kee” or  [ˈnɒki] for all you linguists out there. It is an Italian dish of soft dumplings usually made from potatoes and wheat. I got the pre-packaged kind from TJ’s. The contestants always make it on Top Chef, plus it has a cool name, so I was intrigued.

I prepared it like I would pasta – with marinara and pesto sauce, ground turkey, and fresh sautéed veggies.

The gnocchi cooks really fast. All you have to go is put it in a pot of salted, boiling water. Once the little balls float to the top, cook for 2 additional minutes and it’s done! Drain and serve.

Marcus had his with ground turkey, marinara, veggies and motzerella cheese.

I had mine with marinara, pesto, veggies and nutritional yeast.

The final verdict? Eh…

It was decent. The gnocchi was a little bland and the texture was gummy. I made have overcooked it even though I followed the directions. We both finished our meals, but it wasn’t the best thing I ever made.

I don’t think I would buy gnocchi again. But I would eat it again. Maybe if I ordered it from an authentic Italian restaurant made by someone who actually knew what they were doing. I know a lot of people love it. So I would be willing to try it again.

So there you have it – allergies, an earthquake and a failed attempt at being Italian. Exciting times. 😉

Have a good one! 😀

One response to “An Earthquake and Gnocchi

Leave a Reply

