The Proposal

As many of you know, Marcus and I got engaged last week while on vacation. A lot of you know that he proposed to me right on the beach, down on one knee, in the sand, with the waves crashing beside us.

But few people know the whole story. So here we go. 🙂

First let me just say that the proposal was not a 100% surprise. We had talked about getting engaged for quite some time. After almost 6 years of dating, and almost 2 of living together, I knew a proposal was coming sooner rather than later. I did not know exactly when or where he was going to do it, but in my head I hoped that it would be at the beach.

We go on vacation with his family every year. Myrtle Beach is one of my favorite places in the world and has a special place in my heart. I have created lots of memories with Marcus, his family, as well as my best friends over the years at Myrtle.

Marcus and I typically take one night to ourselves to go out to dinner and walk on the beach. Again, in my head, I hoped that he would propose on our beach walk. I love the beach, so I thought it would be perfect.

But all week long leading up to our dinner date, he was cool as a cucumber. He left no hints that he was going to pop the question. So I began to doubt myself and wonder if it was really going to happen.

When Tuesday rolled around, we were faced with dreary, rainy weather. I was upset because we already made reservations at a seafood restaurant that got awesome reviews on my Urban Spoon app.

But despite the ugly weather, we got cleaned up and went out to dinner.

We decided to go to a place called, Gulfstream Cafe. The reviews were great and the location was beautiful. Situated right across the street from the beach, the restaurant also had a view of Murrells Inlet. Once we arrived we were told that they gave us a table next to a window so we could look outside.

We decided to get an appetizer of crab claws. Even though I have been meat free since last November, I decided to indulge in some seafood. All the fish was locally caught and prepared in house, so I knew it would be worth it.

For his entrée, Marcus ordered crab legs, spinach and hush puppies.

I ordered salmon, mushrooms, mashed potatoes and green beans, along with a glass of Cabernet.

Our meals were awesome, but I was a nervous, excited mess. Marcus again, showed no signs of nervous-ness. We talked and joked around like normal. It was romantic and fun. But inside all I could think about was if he was going to do it.

After we left the restaurant, the rain started to pick up a little more. We drove down the strip until we found public beach parking. I took off my shoes and we walked down to the shore. I asked Marcus if he wanted to walk and he said no.

Ok…I thought. So we stood there and looked at the ocean. People were on the beach walking around and fishing despite the weather. If he was going to propose, I wanted it to be well documented, so I made sure to take this picture.

I could tell he was getting nervous about something because he wasn’t talking much. Finally he asked me, “What do you think of when you look at the ocean?” I replied, “I don’t know…dolphins?” Dolphins are my favorite animal so this seemed reasonable to me, but I was wondering what he was getting at.

He then talked about how big the ocean was, and then told me I was his treasure. I laughed but started to get excited, because he was making no sense.

Finally, he told me to close my eyes. With one hand, I covered my eyes. I had a big cheesy grin on my face because I was sure it was coming. When I opened my eyes, a gorgeous sparkling diamond ring was dangling in front of my face on a necklace.

I immediately started crying and laughing at the same time. I was so overjoyed and excited. Marcus fumbled to get the ring off the necklace which made me laugh/cry even more.

He then got down on one knee…and grabbed my right hand! I said, “wrong hand!” We were both cracking up at this point. And he then asked me to marry him. It was beautiful and perfect and made me cry even more.

With rain and tears falling, he put the ring on my finger. We then kissed and hugged about 100 times. We were both just so giddy that we couldn’t stop laughing and smiling. People started clapping, but I didn’t look around. I was too busy looking at my new fiance. 🙂

I finally got a good look at the ring on my finger and shrieked out loud. Marcus did an wonderful job and picked out a beautiful ring. It was definitely a huge surprise. It fit me perfectly and looked amazing.

When we finally calmed down a little, we got a someone to take our picture.

People walked by and told us congratulations. I was smiling so big my face hurt.

It was a perfect proposal – a little fumbled, a lot romantic and right on the beach. I will remember it for the rest of my life. Turns out, his sister gave him the necklace to put the ring on since the ring box was too obvious in his pocket.

We spent the rest of the night texting, calling and Facebooking our friends and family. His whole family knew about the proposal…even the kids. My whole family knew. He got my parents’ blessing. His best friend and my best friend knew. And no one even hinted. Everyone did an awesome job keeping it a secret.

And now I am engaged to my best friend. Marcus is a great man and will make a great husband. I could not be any happier or more excited about our future together. I feel so blessed to have him in my life.

We’re engaged, and it’s amazing!! 😀

8 responses to “The Proposal

  1. Beautiful and romantic, making me smile and tear up at the same time!

  2. Terri Hawthorne

    Awww! That is so sweet! It made me tear up reading about it too. You guys make a great couple. Best wishes and blessings upon blessings to you both.

  3. Im so lucky you said yes! Looking forward to spending forever with you boo!

  4. Congratulations! How romantic!

  5. Pingback: Donde Esta July? |

  6. Pingback: Photo Filled Wednesday |

  7. Pingback: Flashback Friday – When in Vegas |

  8. Pingback: My Seven Links |

Leave a Reply

