Pizza and Workouts

Because if you’re gonna eat pizza, you gotta work out. And last night, that’s exactly what we did. Marcus and I acquired a copy of P90X and decided to give the shoulder and back workout a try last night. About an hour later we were slick with sweat and fatigued with jelly arms. I think the workout was pretty effective. I definitely had trouble with all of those dang push ups.

I probably won’t do the full 90 days mainly because I am also half marathon training as well as strength training in the mornings at the gym. But it is a good workout to add to the mix. Marcus wants to try and shoot for the full 90 days, so I will definitely be his work out buddy. We’re even going to bring it to the beach so we don’t miss any days. I think P90X along with some nice beach runs will keep me in check while on vacation.

After our workout, I made us some personal pan pizzas using my favorite Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough. I split the dough in half and pressed it out into two round cake pans. I then spread a little bit of olive oil and Italian seasoning onto the dough and let it bake at 425 for 10 minutes.

While the dough was cooking, I sautéed some peppers, onions and black olives.

I topped the pizzas and let them cook for 10 more minutes at 425.

On my pizza, I added a small amount of pesto sauce, sautéed veggies and a soy based cheese blend. I used this cheese mainly to keep my cheese consumption in check. I love cheese, so it’s easy for me to over do it. The soy based cheese isn’t nearly as delicious, but effective for pizza purposes.

On Marcus’ pizza I added pizza sauce, cheddar cheese, veggies, pepperoni and soy based mozzarella cheese. The regular mozzarella I had in the fridge expired. Whoops! He liked the “fake” cheese though, so no worries.

On the side, I made a small salad of spinach, carrots, sunflower seeds (for extra protein and healthy fat), dressed in olive oil, balsamic vinegar and Italian seasoning for me, light champagne vinaigrette for Marcus.

Healthy, quick and delish…just how I like it! While I was cooking, little Bill kept me company by playing in the sink. Love!

In other workout news, I signed up for the Crossroads 17.75K this morning. This is on my list of races I want to run this year. I love the idea of this race because a) The start line is literally minutes away from my parents’ house. I could walk there. b) It’s a Marine Corps race. I ran the Marine Corps half marathon twice and loved it. Plus Marines are awesome. c) It’s a hilly trail race and I have never ran a trail race before. Should be super challenging but hopefully fun!

So far, I have the Patrick Henry Half Marathon in August and now the Crossroads 17.75K in September. My race season is starting again!! 🙂

And because Bill is just too cute. Here’s a picture of him on the top shelf of my closet…getting comfortable in my hoodies.

Have a fab one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

