My Lovely Lady Lumps

Warning – this post talks about boobs and nether regions. Just throwing it out there.

I told you guys recently that I was making my BRCA diagnosis more of a priority. Since that post, I met with my gynocologic oncologist and got the ball rolling on all my exams, screenings etc.

Before I met with her though, I had an appointment with my primary care physician. It was time for my yearly exam, and I wanted to meet with her first because I wasn’t sure what the oncologist was going to do.

That exam went as normal. Pelvic exams are never fun, but it was routine. The next day I met with my oncologist. We talked for a few minutes about my positive results, history, etc. She then told me that she would need to see me every 6 months, that I would alternate between getting mammograms and breast MRIs, transvaginal ultrasounds, the CA 125 blood test for ovarian cancer, as well as standard pelvic and breast exams.

That’s a looooot of poking and prodding on the lady parts. Not that I mind. I mean what’s the alternative? Wait around and get cancer? No thanks.

Needless to say, my oncologist needed to do a full body exam as well. For all those keeping track, that’s 2 pelvic exams in a 24 hour time period. Not fun folks.

But at least both docs told me that everything down below looked normal, and no lumps or bumps were felt in my breasties.

On my lunch break Monday, I went to the lab to give blood for my CA 125 test. This test is a little controversial because it isn’t 100% accurate. But I figure if I get constant readings, then I will be alerted if my levels are ever elevated. Elevated levels could be an indication of ovarian cancer.  

So now I am waiting for my pap and blood results. I also need to schedule my first ever mammogram and transvaginal ultrasound – which is when they stick a wand in your hoo hoo and the image of your insides comes up on the screen.

And at the end, if all of these exams and tests are normal, then I am good for 6 months. In January, I will schedule more appointments and go through the routine again.

It sounds like a lot now that I think about it. But you know what…I’m lucky. I have a lot of people looking out for me. I have good health insurance. We have this awesome technology to catch potential cancer. And I have Marcus, my family, and friends supporting me.

I try to keep that in mind whenever I am feeling overwhelmed. Because believe me it is overwhelming. But I try to take it one thing at a time. And I keep thanking God for my life no matter how stressful it gets sometimes.

So that’s that. I’ll give an update after my mammogram and ultrasound. I’m sure they will both be an experience. And everyone cross your fingers that all my tests come out normal.

Aaaaand because Bill is so cute, here are some pics of him playing in the wine rack. Gah! I could just squeeze him to pieces! 😀

Have a fab one! 🙂

4 responses to “My Lovely Lady Lumps

  1. As always, great post! ❤

  2. Great post! It is nice to hear about what you are going through with all of this.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Turkey Burgers |

  4. Pingback: A BRCA Update |

Leave a Reply

