Semper Fidelis

My brother and I have always been close. We are only a year and a half apart in age, so we grew up doing everything together. We would spend hours throwing the ball in the field beside our house, playing street hockey, swimming in our plastic back yard pool, jumping on the trampoline, and riding our bikes throughout the neighborhood.

Coming from a military family meant we moved around a lot. So we became each other’s best friends and protectors.

I can vividly remember an older kid making fun of the way Tyler talked. Being a little kid, Tyler didn’t pronounce his r’s very well. We went home and told our parents about the teasing. Immediately they asked me, “Did you stick up for your brother?” I remember being ashamed because I didn’t stick up for him. I just let it happen. My parents then told us that we have to be there for each other because they will not always be around. I took this to heart. From that day on, I always tried to protect my little brother.

But a funny thing happened…he grew up. And eventually he didn’t need me to protect him anymore. Now he will be the one doing the protecting.

Tomorrow, my little bother will be commissioned as an officer into the United States Marine Corps. Tomorrow, my not so little brother will become Second Lieutenant Martin.

I get emotional just thinking about it. I am wildly excited for him. He has worked SO hard to get to this place. Tyler is the toughest person I know. No elements or physical conditions stop him from pushing himself. He works hard every day of his life. Whether it be in the gym, on the track, in the classroom, or studying at the computer, Tyler gives 100%.

He went through two sessions of Officer Candidates School in Quantico, Virginia.

At OCS, he was pushed to the max mentally and physically. Facing conditions that would make most people quit, Tyler prevailed and excelled. The toughness of OCS only caused him to set the bar higher and keep succeeding. 

After OCS, Tyler went on to graduate from George Mason University with a degree in Conflict Analysis and Resolution.

Words cannot express how proud I am of my brother. He inspires and motivates me every day. Semper Fidelis means “Always  Faithful.” It is the motto of the Marine Corps. I know Tyler will always be faithful to the Corps, faithful to his country and faithful to his family. He is a good man, an admirable person and one who will always work hard and find success.

While I miss the good ol’ days of throwing the ball around in our yard, I know that he has lots of wonderful, exciting days to come. And even though he is a big, bad Marine, I will always be his older sister. And I will never stop trying to protect him.

Congrats Tyler. You have done us proud and we love you SO much.

5 responses to “Semper Fidelis

  1. Tyler is a stud! Congrats to him and the family! Im proud of him too!

  2. Wonderful post as always! Congratulations, Tyler! I remember the little boy who would mispronounce his “R’s”1 Love you both! ❤

  3. Beautifully written Sunshine! I love you!

  4. Some random person

    Nice tribute Taylor.

  5. God Bless him!!

Leave a Reply

