Brats and Chorizo

There’s something about summer that makes grilling out the perfect evening activity. Which is why I love buying all kinds of food for Marcus to throw on the grill. Better for me, because that’s less I have to do. For some reason grilling is a man thing.

When I was at TJ’s last week, I bought some bratwurst for Marcus and some soy chorizo for me. When I was checking out, the guy told me that these brats were better than one’s he had in Germany. Having eaten brats in Germany, I took this as a good review.

I am not a huge fan of the “fake meat” aka processed soy, but got myself some chorizo thinking Marcus could grill it along side his “better than German” brats.

Unfortunately, I did not realize that traditional chorizo has the consistency of ground beef once the casing is removed. My visions of BBQ tofu turned to pan fried ground tofu.

While Marcus was grilling up the brats, and my chorizo was cooking, I also sautéed some peppers, onion, mushrooms and minced garlic.

 

And since we haven’t had kale in a while, I made kale chips. First, I massaged the kale with olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic and nutritional yeast.

I then put it in the oven at 400 degrees for seven minutes. Massaging the kale first was key. The taste was perfect!

Unfortunately, I was not a huge fan of the soy chorizo. I usually like spicy food but the flavor of the chorizo was just way too overpowering. Never hurts to try something new though, right?

Marcus enjoyed his grilled brats.

I tasted a bite of one to see if they compared to the one’s I had in Germany. Tasted authentic to me! Then again, we were more interested in beer than food. 😉

Another night of good eats. I never want summer to end! 😀

Leave a Reply

