Smoothie Love

I had a delish meal planned last night. But after a super sweaty and hot run, the last thing I wanted to do was cook and eat something heavy. Side note – I LOVE running in hot weather because I like sweating. But lemme just say…I need to get used to the hot temps. That sun was no joke yesterday!

Moving on…after I got home, the only thing that sounded good was tall glass of green…Green Monster that is. Marcus agreed that a Green Monster sounded good, so I whipped up a batch for supper.

In the mix I had – spinach, blueberries, banana, chia seeds, sun butter and almond milk.

Throw it all into the Magic Bullet for a few seconds and dinner is served! Easy, cool and refreshing on a super sweltering day.

Since I was in a smoothie making mood, I decided to prep one for breakfast today. I was inspired by Ashley’s “Dough Boy” smoothie, who adapted her version from Kath. These ladies know what they’re talking about, so I knew I had to try this creation.

In this smoothie I added – rolled oats, half a banana, blueberries, chia seeds, almond milk and vanilla extract.

Ashley and Kath both have different versions, but I made mine based on the ingredients I had. Then I covered my smoothie with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge over night. *Ignore all the half full Gatorades. That is Marcus’ bad habit, not mine.

This morning, I took out my smoothie and added a little more almond milk because it was super thick and oat-y.

Then I blended it all up in my Magic Bullet.

Easy as that and breakfast was ready! The result was a pretty, purple, doughy, thick smoothie. It had a totally different taste then the usual Green Monster, but it was delish and super filling.

These smoothies are awesome because prepping them the night before means breakfast is ready in a jiffy. Also, you can switch it up by adding all kinds of ingredients and toppings. The options are endless. Check out Kath’s and Ashley’s sites for beautiful pics and more ideas for Dough Boy creations.

Believe it or not, I am still full. Usually by now I have a mid-morning snack. Any breakfast that keeps me full this long is a keeper in my book.

I will definitely be making more Dough Boys in the future. Dough Boys and Green Monsters = perfect summer time snack/meal.

Happy Thursday…the weekend is getting closer! We are lake bound for Memorial Day. I can’t wait!

One response to “Smoothie Love

  1. Aw, thanks for the shout out!! So glad you liked it!! And thanks to Kath for coming up with the idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

