Calzones and Pirates

I like to keep it interesting here at Delish World. Which is why when faced with a blob of whole wheat pizza dough, I ditched the usual pizza route and went for something different.

After reading about Janetha’s homemade calzones a few months ago, I knew it was a dinner idea I wanted to remember and recreate down the road. Last night, instead of whipping up my usual homemade pizza, I made calzones.

I used Janetha’s post as a guide and kind of just made up the rest as I went a long. First, I sautéed lots of veggies. All the calzones I have ever had were like 2 pounds of cheese and sauce wrapped in a crispy doughy shell. Delish? Yes. Healthy? Not even.

I then cut my dough blob into four baby blobs, 2 for each of us (enough for leftovers). In two separate bowls I mixed up our ingredients. Marcus had organic pizza sauce, pepperoni, sautéed veggies, mozzarella and feta cheese. I had sauce, lots of veggies and feta.

I rolled out my baby dough balls into “circles” (ugly circles, but they worked) and placed them onto a greased baking sheet. Then I portioned some of the mixture onto half of the “circle” and closed the other half on top, creating a little pocket.

Not really calzone-shaped, but it worked. *Check out Janetha’s blog for cuter calzones. I am clearly a little challenged.

I misted the calzones with cooking spray then I popped them into a preheated oven (400 degrees) for 15 minutes.

After 15 minutes, my calzones were perfectly cooked and smelled awesome. I served them along side roasted broc for some more veggie power.

Simple and satisfying! This will definitely be made again!

After supper and some household things, it was time to get ready for a date with Johnny Depp. I have mentioned before that mom and I go to midnight screenings of our favorite movies.

Favorite movies being Harry Potter and Twilight. Clearly, we are 14 years old. So when our man, Johnny came out with a new Pirates movie, of course we HAD to go see it at midnight!

To say I am obsessed with Johnny Depp is an understatement. I sleep with a Jack Sparrow pillow…enough said.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides was amazing! It went back to the roots of the first movie. Lots of fighting. Lots of swash buckling. Lots of Jack Sparrow and Captain Barbossa. Mermaids, Blackbeard the Pirate, The Fountain of Youth…it was perfect.

Mom and I had a great time! We both looove going to the movies. The movie kept us out until 3:00am. I had to wake up for work at like 6-something. But it was worth it for a fun night with my momma!

Like I said…I keep it interesting. Happy Friday! We are SO close to the weekend! 😀

2 responses to “Calzones and Pirates

  1. Your calzones turned out AWESOME! Now I am craving one!! You and your mom are babes. Have an incredible weekend!

Leave a Reply

