This and That

Hello friends! How the heck are you? First things first…I bought the domain name for my blog meaning I am officially DelishWorld.com! Horray! What does this mean for you?

Well, it’ll be easier to get to my blog. All you have to do is type, www.delishworld.com, into your browser. Easy peasy! Also, if you have subscribed to my site, or added me to your Google reader, you should still be able to read my blog just fine since the old address is redirected to this one. So everything should still be the same…just an easier site address! If you have not subscribed to my blog, please do. Simply click the “follow me” link on the left side of my blog. That way you will never miss a post!

Ok, moving on….I have s little recap of my cheese challenge. As you may recall, I went without cheese for one full week and ended the challenge last Saturday. I did this mainly to see if I could tell a difference to my body, digestion, overall mood, etc. I do not feel like I eat an abundance of cheese, but it is something that I can definitely eat less of.

My thoughts….well, there were certainly meals that made me miss my cheese! Like homemade nachos and my go-t0 meal of eggs and toast. My cheeseless creations were awesome, no doubt. But I did notice that I felt less satisfied after these meals because I missed that cheese element. I found myself not hungry after eating, but still wanting more.

What saved me during this challenge…nutritional yeast! It has a great nutty, cheesy flavor. I added it to my eggs and it was awesome! Plus it’s full of protein and B vitamins. I was so glad to have the nutritional yeast on hand.

What I noticed…well, some meals left me feeling less satisfied, but once I assessed my hunger, I realized that I did not need to eat more. I wasn’t hungry, just craving something else. So I would move on to another activity, like cleaning the kitchen or making lunches in order to distract myself from wanting to eat more. This worked well and the little cravings passed quickly. While I did not do this challenge for weight loss, I did notice that my jeans fit looser by the end of the week. I have no clue if this was cheese related or not, but I’ll take it!

What this means for me…I have decided to not eliminate cheese totally, but greatly reduce it. I am still trying to figure out my stance on dairy products in general as far as its effect on my body and health. I love milk, cheese, yogurt, ice cream…but have cut most of it out of my diet. Mainly because it is large source of fat and also I have concerns with where my food comes from and how it is treated before it reaches the grocery store. I’d rather not drink/eat all the hormones and antibiotics that dairy companies are shooting into cows in order to make them produce milk. But I love how dairy products taste. This is why I am reducing and working on finding better sources for the things that I like to eat.

Ok, that was wordy…but hopefully somewhat interesting. If not, sorry!

Check out what I made for dinner last night. Chicken/tempeh, roasted broccoli and boxed pasta salad from Trader Joe’s. Marcus and I fell in love with the pasta salad. It was super flavorful and easy as pie to make. It a good side dish to throw together, when I didn’t feel like spending a lot of time cooking.

Lastly, I just wanted to take the time and honor my great grandma. She passed away. She was 100 years old (almost 101). I did not get to spend as much time with her as I would have liked, but all my memories of her were good ones.

She was a short, spunky lady who loved to cook. She was as short and my great grandpa was tall. Together they looked like the odd couple. He was always grinning and she was always scowling. But they loved each other immensely.

She was a good lady. I feel happy that she is in Heaven now with my great grandpa – back with her love. I feel sad for my grandpa and his brothers and sister. I also feel sad for my mom. She loved her grandma and has many fond memories of her.


*my great grandma, great grandpa, baby mom and grandma

So please just send some love and prayers to my family. We are sad that she is gone, but happy that she is in a better place.

Thanks for reading this post. It was all over the place! Have a fab day! 🙂

One response to “This and That

  1. Love you. And I want what you had for supper last night! lol!

Leave a Reply

