Alien Veggies

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I am not Mexican, nor am I getting wasted today, but I urge you to drink margaritas in the name of Mexico. I am making homemade nachos tonight to celebrate….without cheese…should be interesting!

But before I worry about tonight’s food, I must talk about last night’s food.

Looks like we havent eaten potatoes in a while! These babies were growing legs. But not to worry, I scrubbed them up, chopped off those ugly antennas and made them into french fries. Aliens no more!

Brussels sprouts always look like they come from another planet. Maybe that’s why people hate them so much. But once you cut these little nuggets in half and douse them in olive oil and lots of garlic and cayenne, they are not so creepy.

See? All cut up and ready for baking.

Along with my alien veggies, I made crock pot chicken for Marcus – 5 chicken strips in the crock pot with a little water, sliced onions, salt, pepper, garlic and Italian seasoning – set on low and cooked to tender, juicy perfection. I had tofu cooked using the usual crispy method. Always delish!

Superb meal and whipped up in no time! Just the way I like it! Mother Nature needs to take a chill pill though. It was super chilly and windy yesterday. No al fresco dining for us.

And just because I like pretty things…here are the flowers Marcus and I had delivered to mom for Mother’s Day.

Aren’t they smashing?! When I saw these tye-dyed wonders, I knew I had to order them for mom! We are suckers for tye-dye…obviously. 😉

And in other Mother’s Day news…my mom posted this picture of her mom on Facebook. I never knew my grandma because she died before I was born. But seeing this picture made me go whoa!

Mom always said I had her mother’s cheek bones…looks like she was right!

Have a fab day and Happy *almost* Mother’s Day to all you sexy mommas out there! 😀

2 responses to “Alien Veggies

  1. Wonderful post! The feed looks delish! And you do favor your Grandmother a whole lot! I love you! (the flowers are awesome!)

  2. dang, thems some good lookin women

Leave a Reply

