Good News

You have probably heard by now that Osama bin Laden has been killed by U.S. Navy SEALs. Marcus woke me up last night to tell me and sleepily I said, “that’s so random.” And it was! I mean obviously bin Laden has been on our sh*t list since 9/11, but I feel like this really came out of nowhere.

I woke up this morning and read the news and was instantly filled with pride for our country. With a tip received in August, President Obama and his intelligence team have been working out all the details for this attack. No other countries knew about it. The media didn’t know. American citizens didn’t know. Like the bad asses they are, a Navy SEAL team swooped in and got the job done.

It’s amazing and makes me proud to be an American. The 9/11 attacks rocked our world, and I am so happy that justice has been served. Almost 10 years ago I sat in Spanish class when an announcement came over the loud speaker telling us to remain clam. My teacher turned on the TV to find that the World Trader Center and Pentagon had been attacked by our own planes. Freaking out, I found Tyler in the hallway after class and we talked about getting in touch with our parents to make sure they were ok. For the rest of the day, I sat in silence with my classmates watching the TV as the news came in. Being so close to DC, we were all worried about our parents. It was a scary, intense and confusing day, especially for kids. We had no idea why this was happening, or what we should do. Osama bin Laden was behind the 9/11 attacks on our country. The news of his death definitely makes this a good day for Americans and one that should unite us.

No matter if you are Republican or Democrat, pro-Obama or against Obama…this is a victory for the United States. I hate all the mud-slinging that comes with politics. He did this, said that…to me, it doesn’t matter. I am pro-America, pro-military. All the other stuff is unnecessary.

I am proud of our military and all those who have sacrificed their time and their lives for our freedom. I am thankful for all those who will continue to protect us and pray that we will stay strong against whatever retaliation comes our way.

I hope this brings us all together, even if it’s for a short while. So smile, be proud and have a great day. 🙂

4 responses to “Good News

  1. It’s a great day indeed!

  2. Nice post.
    Go NAVY!
    Service provided from the boom to the tomb.

  3. Very well said Sis!

  4. Wel said and beautiful pictures, god bless our country!

Leave a Reply

