Stir Fry and Surprises

Yesterday, I received not one but TWO packages in the mail. They were both total surprises. Who doesn’t love getting mail, especially when it’s unexpected?

First, was a cute little turtle and a note from my old co-worker, Nehmesah. She knows I LOVE turtles and I keep a collection on my desk at work. She saw one and thought of me, so she bought it and sent it. How sweet is that?! I don’t know many people who would send someone a package for no reason, but she is super thoughtful like that. It definitely put a smile on my face. 🙂

I was headed out the door for a run yesterday and came across package number two. It was from my sister, Kelly. I had to open the package before I went running or the curiosity would have killed me. I was super surprised to see that she sent me an awesome Lululemon tank top and The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone. Workout gear and a nutrition book, does she know me or what? I immediately put the tank on and wore it on my run. I started the book before I went to sleep last night. It was the perfect gift!

After two awesome packages and a nice sweaty run, it was time to start cooking. I decided to cook an old favorite, my fail-proof dinner – stir fry! I had lots of veggies left over from Easter and what better way to use them up then in stir fry. I used carrots, celery, corn, peas, onions, broccoli and mushrooms. Love!

I then cut a block of tempeh for my protein and five chicken breast strips for Marcus (I made extra for leftovers). *Cut your meat last. That way you don’t have to keep sanitizing your cutting board.

Using two separate pans, I cooked the tempeh/chicken along with all the veggies, salt, pepper, garlic and cayenne. While my stir fry was doing its thang, I had quinoa going as well. You all know I love quinoa. I can’t get enough of it. I originally planned to make brown rice, but quinoa won out.

When the food was close to being done, I added two eggs to each pan and scrambled it all together. I think the eggs really complete the meal. They’re my favorite part. Then again, I could eat eggs every day, so maybe I’m biased.

So easy, so delish, so many veggies! Perfecto! We ate outside and it was fabulous. It’s close to lunch time. My left over stir fry is calling my name!! Have a fab day! 🙂

2 responses to “Stir Fry and Surprises

  1. Wonderful!!! The surprises and the food!

  2. Your stir fry looks seriously delish! I can’t wait to try your recipe! I love your blog!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

