I’m A Morning Person

I’m a morning person…always have been. I did not realize how different my energy levels were during the day though until yesterday.

Yesterday, I told myself I’d get in a medium run (6 miles) after work. I changed into my gym clothes, stretched, and parked my truck next to a jogging trail and set off on my run. Almost immediately, I wanted to quit. My mind and body were just not feeling it. My breathing was off, my ankles were hurting and I couldn’t get into the zone. I made it about three miles before I determined that this was not going to be my day, and went home.

Like I said, I am a morning person. After sitting at a desk for 8.5 hours, working out just does not excite me. I know a lot of people use it as a way to de-stress after a long day. But all I want to do is go home and rest my mind. My run was crap yesterday and I was just plain fatigued.

Switch to today. I woke up at 4:30 am for cycle sculpt class. This class combines Body Pump and cycling. It’s the perfect mix of cardio and weight lifting. By 4:45 I was changed and out the door.  I had a granola bar to hold me over until breakfast.

At a little past 5:00, I was at the gym and ready to work out. I grabbed my bike and set up my Body Pump station. For all of those not familiar with BP, it’s a class designed to work every muscle group. Each muscle group has its own song along with specific lifts. It jacks your heart rate way up and gets you sweating in no time.

Since this class combines BP with cycling, we only do about half of the BP workout with intervals of cycling in between. This is my favorite class because I sweat a ton from the cycling but also get to feel very strong and powerful from lifting.

After a few minutes of warming up, I am usually ready to go. Any tiredness I had from waking up early disappears and the endorphins flow. The instructor makes the routines a little harder than since we don’t do the full BP workout. Today, my arms were quivering from the chest workout. My legs were jelly from the lunge workout. My shirt was soaked with sweat. It felt so good.

After putting away the equipment and chatting with some gym friends, I was finished. It was only 6:19 am. My workout for the day is finished (unless Marcus and I ride bikes later). I get to go home after work and relax.

Working out in the morning also gets me ready for the day. I have lots of energy and feel good about myself. If I skip a morning workout, I definitely have “one of those days,” not fun. Tomorrow, I will run in the morning before work, instead of trying to get it in after work.

That’s what I love about working out…it allows you to really get to know your body. What time of day do you feel your best? What type of workouts makes you feel the most energetic? What food fuels your workouts? When are you the most tired? Because I switch up my workout routines, I am able to see what works best for me and my schedule.

Are you a morning person, or a night owl? Marcus is a night owl. Sometimes we’re polar opposites, I swear. 🙂

3 responses to “I’m A Morning Person

  1. You cant hang late and I miss the early worm. Oh well…at least we meet in the middle!

  2. I’m a morning person, but not for exercise. My body is just in slow motion in the mornings. That being said, mornings still work best with my schedule.

    In a perfect world, I would work out around 10 am.

Leave a Reply

