Tofu Burrito Bowls

First of all, I just want to say…I love coming home after a long day of work. I love my house. It’s comfortable, bright and relaxing. There is no better feeling then coming home and cooking a delish supper. That’s why I work out in the morning most days. So after work I have the whole evening to just relax. Ok, on to the food!

Since my homemade burrito bowls were such a success a few weeks ago, I decided to make them again but with tofu this time for my bowl. For Marcus’ burrito bowl I used taco chicken that I had cooking in the crock pot all day.

I did not really know what I was doing with the tofu. I kind of just made up a method of making it more ground beef-like. First, I cut my block of tofu into four manageable pieces. Then I drained it under two heavy cook books.

While my tofu was draining, I prepared all my other ingredients – sautéed peppers and onions, brown rice and corn, and black beans.

After about 20 minutes of draining, I took the tofu and shredded it using a cheese grater.  This worked really well since to tofu is so soft.

It ended up looking like a cross between grated cheese and ground meat, which was perfect.

I threw my ground tofu into a hot pan of olive oil and minced garlic. I then added taco seasoning. I cooked it just like ground beef, by flipping it around until it was crispy and no longer super soft.

Then it was time to build my burrito bowl. First I added brown rice and corn followed by black beans.

I then added my taco tofu and sautéed veggies. I topped it all with cheddar cheese, sour cream, jalapenos and  homemade tortilla chips.

Perfection!

I LOVE this meal. It was so easy to throw together. Plus I got to incorporate lots of veggies and food full of good flavor. Everything was simple but tasted great.

Marcus was still at the gym when I finished cooking. So I ate outside and read the latest issue of Runner’s World.

I know I’ve said this 1,000 times, but I love my backyard and sitting outside.

With views like this how can you not be happy? 🙂

One response to “Tofu Burrito Bowls

  1. Pingback: Homemade Turkey Burgers |

Leave a Reply

