Fun Stuff

First of all, thank you to all those who read my post yesterday. The comments, thoughts, prayers and advice were all appreciated and warmed my heart. I know that I am joining an amazing and strong group of women and men who are fighting every day kick cancer’s ass. I know I will always have support from this community, no matter what happens down the road.

Now, onto the fun stuff…

Today is my dad’s birthday!!! He is 52 today!

It’s hard to believe that in this picture he was around my age. He and my mom had Tyler and me in their 20’s. I’m in my 20’s! I can’t even imagine!

But no matter his age, my dad has always been the best father in the world. Dependable and supportive are the two ways I would describe my dad. Since I could remember, my dad has always been a voice of reason, my rock. He’s level-headed, smart and gives great advice.

I can go to my dad with anything and know that he will give it to me straight even if it’s not what I want to hear. I also know that he would do anything in the world for my mom, brother and me.

In college, he used to drive down to my house just to cut our grass. One time I woke up with a flat tire, and he drove right down and took me to the store to buy a new one and change it for me. If I had a bad at-bat during a softball game, I would automatically go back to the dugout and find him on the other side of the fence. “What am I doing wrong,” I’d ask. He would always have a solution. “You need to get around in the ball quicker. Keep your head in. Watch for the change-up.”

I could always depend on my dad. He would drop anything and help me if I needed it. My dad taught me how to throw a ball, shoot a basketball, kick a football, shoot a gun, write a resume, go on a job interview, lift weights. My dad showed me how to be brave, tough and strong. He has always been proud of me, supportive and encouraging. I am so lucky to have a dad like him. 🙂

Happy Birthday Dad. I love youuuuu!!!

Another great thing about today…

I am going down to North Carolina with my BFFs for a girls weekend!! My friend Stef lives down there and we have never been to her house to visit. I am BEYOND excited to spend the weekend with my girls. This could not have come at a better time.

Lots of dancing, laughing, gossiping and primping in the mirror are just what I need. While I love my boy, girl time is just SO necessary in life. I am getting off work soon and hitting the road! Can’t wait!

Have an awesome weekend everyone. I know I will! 😀

5 responses to “Fun Stuff

  1. Great post. I…wait…there’s something in my eye.

    I’ll be back.

  2. Haha Dad. Glad you liked it. I meant every word. You are the BEST! 🙂

  3. That’s what she said.

  4. hahahahahaha…giggle…
    It made me teary Sis, and Ron you did too…from laughing! We are blessed!

  5. Happy Birthday Ron from sunny south Fla.
    Enjoy ur girls weekend.

Leave a Reply

