Homemade Tostadas

Another day…another homemade creation. Last night we had homemade tostadas. Again, it was another meal that I could easily adapt mine and Marcus’ tastes and preferences.

Mexican-style dishes are sooo good for those who do not eat meat. All those yummy beans are a great source of protein, plus you can add all the delish veggies you want.

To make my tostadas, I first crisped up four whole wheat tortillas on the stove for about three minutes on each side.

While the tortillas were cooking, I prepared ground turkey for Marcus. I then flavored it with taco seasoning.

I also wilted some spinach with sautéed onions and minced garlic. Not very traditional for a Mexican-themed dish, but I had to incorporate some green into our meal. I mixed Trader Joe’s salsa with frozen corn and also broke out some black beans and refried beans. My tostadas were ready to build…

On my two toastadas I added – refried beans, salsa mixture, spinach, cheese, black beans, and jalapenos. On Marcus’ tostadas I added refried beans, taco turkey, salsa mixture, spinach, cheese, and jalapenos. I made us two tostadas each so that we would have enough for lunch the next day.

I then broiled all four tostadas for about 4 minutes to melt the cheese and heat in ingredients together.

Finally, plate and cut into pieces with a pizza cutter. Easy as pie tostada! Simple and delish! Just the way I like it!

I threw this meal together after Marcus and I went on a bike ride to get some exercise. We decided to bike around the wildlife preserve next to our house in hopes of seeing some animals. We saw an animal all right….a coyote!

Right when we saw him, he saw us and looked right at us. He was running by some trees and looked kind of like a large stray dog. I said, “we need to turn around.” By the time I turned my bike around, Marcus was gone. He high-tailed it out of there faster than I could say, “tostada,” and left me in the dust.

What a brave BF I have. 😉 You can bet he won’t want to go bike riding back in the wildlife preserve again.

Happy Thursday….it’s almost the weekend!! YESSS!! 😀

6 responses to “Homemade Tostadas

  1. love your blog!

    have you ever thought about adding video clips on how to make the food?

  2. easylifestyles

    Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. I enjoy reading your blog very much. Spending time with my family and doing fun activities is something that truly makes me happy.

    Check out these Family Activities

  3. Your tostada’s looked really good! I love the story about the bike trip too. You two always crack me up! Luv you both! And luv your blog!

Leave a Reply

