Al Fresco Dining

There was something different about supper last night. No, it wasn’t the food. You have seen the food before…

I made tilapia for Marcus

Tofu for me

Kale and cute teeny tiny roasted potatoes for us both

So what made this supper so different??

We ate it outside! Al fresco! Now this may not seem like a big deal to some, but we spent all of last year saying we would get patio furniture and we never did. So during the nice warm nights we sat inside, wistfully starting at the bare patio thinking about how nice it would be to eat outside and enjoy the evening.

Patio furniture is one of those things that was on our list to buy, but other stuff just seemed more important. Finally, a few weeks ago we just pulled the trigger and bought a patio set.

So while we were eating a meal I cook often, last night was special. The last few golfers quickly made their way through the back end of the course. The sky darkened as a storm blew in. The golf course came alive with the songs of birds, bugs and frogs.

We slowly ate our food and each had a Heineken. Last night was just a sit outside and drink a beer kind of night. So I made a pit-stop to 7-11 on the way home because we don’t typically have much alcohol around. And it was perfect.

Perfect, until a killer wasp scared Marcus right out of his seat and into the house. And by killer I mean this wasp totally wasn’t paying any attention to us. But Marcus is scared of flying insects of any kind. He will even swat at a butterfly if it comes too close. So I will need to work on making our patio dining area more bug-free. Because I plan on spending many more nights outside.

This Summer we will be eating al fresco, all the time. 😀

6 responses to “Al Fresco Dining

  1. LOL! I love it!

  2. Way to call me out!

  3. I adore eating outside! I havent bought any patio furniture for my new apartment yet but I have sat on the floor of my balcony and had dinner!

    • Believe me…before we had furniture I contemplated sitting on the concrete patio w/ a blanket just to be outside! It’s just so much better then being indoors!

  4. Pingback: Alien Veggies | Delish World

Leave a Reply

