Top Chef

Did anyone watch the Top Chef All-Stars season finale last night? SPOILER ALERT…..

 

Richard Blaise wins! Horray! I love Blaise. He is an awesome chef and uses the coolest tecniques…liquid nitrogen anyone?

While I am no Richard Blaise, I did whip up a pretty awesome din din last night. It had Marcus going mmm mmm as he was eating it. That’s how I know it’s good.

I began by prepping some chicken for baking. I used a recipe that I adapted from All Recipes. I like to call it fake fried chicken. I looove cooking chicken like this…it’s easy and delish!

Ingredients
defrosted chicken breast strips
olive oil
minced garlic
bread crumbs
parmesan cheese
spices of choice (I used salt, pepper and Perfect Pinch herb blend)

Directions
-Preheat oven to 425 and coat baking sheet with cooking spray


-Combine olive oil and minced garlic in a dish. Heat for 1 min in microwave to mix the flavors.
-Combine bread crumbs, cheese and spices in a dish.
-Roll chicken breast in oil mixture then bread crumb mixture. Repeat for all chicken.
-Place strips on baking sheet and cook for 30 minutes.

Easy as that!! It reminds me of fried chicken, except healthier.

I cooked this along with quinoa pilaf. I loooove quinoa. I think it tastes way better than rice and it’s full of protein. To make my pilaf, I used one cup of quinoa and two cups of vegetable broth.

Heat quinoa and broth in a pot until it begins to boil. Reduce heat, cover and let it simmer for about 10 more minutes. Uncover, turn heat off and let it sit. The remaining liquid will be absorbed. I then stirred in frozen corn, peas and fresh chopped mushrooms for more veggie power, along with garlic and cayenne to bump up the flavor.

For my protein (since I’m meat-free these days) I made two eggs over-well. I intended to cook them over-medium but I left them on a little too long. This is my fave way to eat eggs lately.

To make, crack egg over hot greased pan and leave it whole. Add a tiny bit of water to pan, cover the whole thing with a lid and let it all simmer. The water will steam and help cook the egg on top so you don’t have to flip. Let it cook until it reaches the desired doneness. Seriously, I could eat eggs like this every day. So good!

Finally, to complete the meal I wilted some spinach along with sautéed onions and minced garlic. (Can you tell I like garlic and onions?! Jeez…can I get an Altoid?)

Whew…seemed like a lot of work but it wasn’t. I cooked the sides dishes while the chicken was baking. It was all pretty easy and quick.

Check out that complete meal! And all those veggies…awesome.

This is a good illustration of how easy it is to incorporate protein into a meat-free diet for all those who have doubts. The eggs and quinoa are a complete protein (contains an adequate proportion of all nine of the essential amino acids necessary for the dietary needs of humans), and the veggies bump up the protein as well.

Top Chef here I come! 😉

Leave a Reply

