Giving Tempeh A Try

I have always wanted to try tempeh, but could not find it at my local Trader Joe’s until recently. I know what you’re thinking…. “what the heck is tempeh?” I thought the same thing at first. But after reading about it for a while on other blogs, I decided I needed to try it out!

Wiki says that tempeh is fermented soybeans that are naturally bound into a cake-like form. Tempeh is a whole soybean product, which means it is less processed then tofu. The retention of the whole bean means that it is higher in protein, fiber, and vitamins.

The tempeh I used was three grain and contained soybeans, rice, barley, and millet. I had originally planned to coat the tempeh in bread crumbs and spices and pan fry it in olive oil, in hopes of making it more “meat-like” in order to get Marcus to try it.

So to start, I cut my block into eight pieces. Looks kind of like rice crispy treats…

I then dipped each piece in olive oil then rolled each piece around in a mixture of bread crumbs, salt, pepper, garlic, and herbs. Then I fried the pieces in a hot pan – 3 minutes on each side. The result was crispy, crunchy tempeh. It kind of resembled fried chicken fingers.

The texture was good, but the flavor was a bit bland. I decided to keep the tempeh for myself and make Marcus a hamburger. He was at the gym while I was cooking. I knew when he got home he would want a nice filling meal and probably wouldn’t want to experiment with fermented soybeans. 😛

I liked the tempeh and I am happy to have found another source of vegetarian protein. But like with tofu, I will use it lightly in my diet since there are conflicting studies about soy and how it affects hormone levels in the bod. In the future, I will definitely make it differently, in hopes of making it more flavorful. Good thing there are lots of recipes out there for tempeh.

Along with the tempeh/hamburger, I made my farmer’s market green beans and baked potatoes.

To make the green beans I snapped off the ends and broke the beans in half. I then washed my beans and cooked them in a pot of boiling water (like pasta). Once they reached my preferred doneness (still hard but not crunchy), I sautéed them in a pan with onions, garlic, pepper, and sesame seeds. Perfection! I also prepare asparagus this way. Soo delish and easy!

I cooked the baked potatoes in the microwave (s0 much faster) and supper was complete!

Aaaaand because I can’t get enough of bald eagles lately, I have another camera that I am watching. This couple has babies who have hatched! They live in Norfolk, VA in the botanical gardens. This morning I got to witness a tandem feeding where mom and dad took turns feeding the three little eagle nuggets. It was amaaazing. I love nature! 🙂 Have a fabulous and sunny Tuesday!

5 responses to “Giving Tempeh A Try

  1. The green beans look wonderful! I need to try them this way too!

  2. By the way, I’ve read that tempeh is much better for you than tofu because it is fermented soy. Same with miso, fermented tofu (which is hard to find), and natto. Fermented soy products can actually be beneficial to people in moderation of course. It can reduce hot flashes (my mother and aunt can attest to it!), reduce cholesterol and strengthen bones. I try to eat tempeh when I can instead of regular tofu when I crave some “meatlike” product. By the way, try making a stir fry with tempeh pieces without frying them..they really soak up the sauce and flavors well without getting soggy on you!

    • Thanks for the comment Rahel! You are so full of good vege. info! Yea, I also read that tempeh is better for you thean tofu, so it will def be in my rotation and on my grocery list!

  3. Pingback: Protein II | Delish World

  4. Pingback: TJ’s Faves | Delish World

Leave a Reply

