Special Sauce Quesadillas

Happy Friday lovelies! I’m ready for the weekend! How about you guys?

Umm, first can we talk about how it’s Winter again here in VA. No bueno! We just got new patio furniture (finally!) and can’t even freakin use it because it’s been so cold and rainy outside. Sunshine come back to us!

Ok, onto the food! Yesterday morning, I threw some defrosted chicken breast strips into my crock pot along with water and taco seasoning. I set it on low and it cooked away while I was at work. So simple!

Once I got home, it was time to start making quesadillas. Quesadillas are really easy to make and versatile for both of our eating styles. Also, you can add whatever ingredients you have in the fridge. My quesadillas were made with whole wheat tortillas, cheddar cheese, taco flavored chicken (for Marcus), black beans, corn, and sautéed mushrooms and onions.

Before I started cooking, I prepared my special secret sauce. And I am about to share the secret with you! While I was a waitress at Cheeseburger in Paradise in college, one of my favorite things on the menu was the Island Quesadilla. The reason it was so good….the sauce! Right before we delivered the plate to the customer, we would drizzle the quesadilla with special sauce and top with fresh cilantro. It was soooo delish!

I recreated it last night using barbecue sauce mixed with sour cream and water to make it drizzly. If I just gave away your secret CIP, I am sorry. I drizzled my CIP-inspired sauce over my finished quesadillas and was super happy with the result!

To prepare the quesadillas I simply placed a tortilla in a hot greased pan. Spread cheese, veggies, beans, and chicken (for Marcus), along one half of the tortilla. Top with a little more cheese. Let this cook until the cheese melts. Carefully close the tortilla together to form a half moon shape. The cheese will seal it shut. Plate the quesadilla, cut into quarters, and drizzzzzle the sauce.

I roasted broc for some green and added jalapenos for some heat. You know what I am going to say next….this was so easy! Supper was prepared in a flash! And after a long day of work and genetic testing, a quick and easy meal was exactly what I needed.

Wahoooo, lots of fun stuff coming up in the next few weeks – The George Washington Parkway Classic, the start of Marcus’ baseball season, the start of our co-ed slowpitch season…looove it! 😀 Have a fab day!!

One response to “Special Sauce Quesadillas

  1. I should have came and ate supper with you last night! It looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

