Being Thankful

My heart goes out to all of those affected by the tsunami in Japan. As the death count rises, and the nightmare continues, I think about my own life and the things that I take for granted. In the blink of an eye everything you own and love can be taken away from you.

As I watch the devastation and news coverage, I realize that instead of always thinking about the things I want, the things I can’t afford, I need to be thankful for the beautiful life that I do have.

So this weekend I spent time appreciating the little things and thanking God for my life.

I appreciate the hard core boot camp workout I had this Saturday. Waking up at 6:30 on a Saturday was not fun. But at the end, it was so worth it.

I appreciate that my mom is finally feeling better and able to go to Trader Joe’s with me. Even though it was just a trip to the grocery store we had fun taking our time and being together.  

We saw two different bald eagles in two nests on our way to the store. We took detours through Old Town and enjoyed views of the Potomac River. We laughed, we talked, and I felt happy to see that she was healing and feeling better.

I made delish food, spent time with my family. I cleaned my house, lit candles and opened the windows. I appreciated the warm weather, the sunshine, and took time to stop and smell the roses hydrangeas.

I am thankful for all that I have and will continue to pray for Japan and those affected all around the world. Spread the love and smiles and have a great Sunday. 🙂

3 responses to “Being Thankful

  1. Beautifully said Sunshine!

  2. I love Trader Joe’s…wish I had one closer!

Leave a Reply

