Burrito Bowls

When my friend Casp asked me to create healthified Chipotle burrito bowls, I told her I was alllll over it! She also told me she was thinking about buying a crock pot. I told her it would be a grand purchase. And now I give her/you readers my version of Chipotle burrito bowls using a crock pot. Two birds, one stone. I aim to please. 🙂

First, I put defrosted chicken breast strips into my crock pot with a little bit of water and taco seasoning. Two ingredients and the crock pot did all the work. I set it to low and let it cook all day while I was at work. The result was perfectly flavored, tender, moist chicken for Marcus’ burrito bowl. So easy!

Next, I cooked up my whole grain. Chipotle uses white rice flavored with cilantro. I used Trader Joe’s harvest grains blend. I LOVE this blend. It has Israeli couscous, red and green orzo, split dried garbanzo beans, and red quinoa. It’s healthier than white rice and full of protein. To cook, I combined two cups of water with one cup of grain in a pot. I seasoned to taste. Once the water started to boil, I covered and reduced the heat. I let it all cook for about 10 minutes, then let it sit uncovered until I was ready to eat.

Then, I sautéed some onions. I also warmed up a can of black beans (healthier then refried), and frozen corn. I prefer making my own beans to using canned because I can control the sodium, but for the sake of time, I use canned a lot. (I should prob whip up some homemade beans this weekend)

Instead of using store-bought tortilla chips, I made my own from whole wheat tortillas. This was super easy and SO DELISH! I first set the oven to broil. Using a pizza cutter, I sliced the whole wheat tortillas into 8ths. I placed the pieces on a greased baking sheet. Using my fingers, I added a tiny bit of olive oil and sea salt to both sides of the tortilla pieces. I let them broil for 5 minutes. They became crispier as they cooled off.

Once all my food was finished cooking, I put my bowl together. My other ingredients were tomatoes, salsa, cheese, sour cream…..and my favorite condiment on the planet….Tabasco Chipotle hot sauce. I seriously go through a bottle a month. I put it on everything. No other hot sauces compare.

Also, I’m super lazy classy, and served the food out of tupperware. So that when we were finished I could just put the lid on and throw it in the fridge.

My burrito bowl consisted of grain blend, black beans, corn, onions, tomatoes, salsa, cheese, sour cream and lots of hot sauce. To be healthier I would say to omit the cheese and sour cream. But I am never one to resist cheese. Also I figured I added less than the heavy-handed Chipotle workers, so I’m ok.

This was all super easy to put together and tasted great! I love meals where we can choose our own toppings. Also, so many variations can be made based on the ingredients you have. You can add sautéed peppers, guacamole, lettuce, different meats, beans, or grains.

So there you have it, homemade healthified burrito bowls. And you know what the best part is don’t you? Duh! Leftovers! Saves me money and ensures that I am making smarter food choices throughout the day.

Happy Thursday. 🙂

3 responses to “Burrito Bowls

  1. I love Chipotle, but love even more that you made it your own! TJ’s blend and black beans…perfection! Great recipe!

  2. Pingback: Tofu Burrito Bowls | Delish World

Leave a Reply

